We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embarcadero Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Embarcadero Inn to your Saves list
Embarcadero Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy 20% Off Weekdays
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay and is located right on the harbor within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and efficient and the breakfast is very good.

I have stayed here many times before but always on the third floor. This time our room was on the second floor and although I truly enjoying staying at this hotel I would recommend getting a room on the third floor. The views from both the second and third floor balconies are great. But the constant noise from the floor above with people walking every night all night long is more than I wanted to deal with. We stayed three nights and unfortunately only slept a few hours each night due to the constant noise.
If it wasn't for the noise I would have given the Embarcaderro Inn 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    123
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
83
183
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here just one night. Extremely comfortable and clean. Very spacious room with a great view of the Rock. It was nice having access to a jacuzzi as well. Great location. Very comfortable beds. My only complaint was the sound of the barking sea lions, no fault of the hotel and better than the sounds of cars or freeway. It was part of the ambiance. The breakfast was an added plus, especially for a family of four.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and really liked it. While it's not right on the water, our room (303) had a super view. The road noise was OK. In the past we always stayed across the street at Grey's Inn (same price but on the bay). But this hotel was MUCH nicer - very large clean room, supper comfortable bed and continental breakfast to boot! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittnau
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really nice and friendly hotel. Clean and spacious rooms nice decorated. Staff was very friendly. We could lend out blue ray dvd's for free with a popcorn already prepared in the microwave inside the room. In the lobby was always fresh brewed coffee and cookies ready for take out. For dinner all the restaurants were in walking distance. Would absolutely go there another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It´s a good place, with comfortable rooms. We loved it.- Really, it’s very quiet and relaxing. We went in our honey moon. The view is excellent. They have an amazing breakfast. There was a machine to made waffles yourself. Great waffles!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Inn is a little dated but it’s in very good repair/condition and very clean!! If at all possible stay of the 3rd floor or towards the far end, away from the office for the best harbor views. As noted in some other reviews this is an active commercial harbor and there is a boatyard with a crane across the street. Get over it, life’s too short and Morro Bay and the Inn have a lot to offer! Our room was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and did not dominate the room; the gar fireplace was a nice touch.

Wine and cheese on the balcony was a great way to spend an afternoon or evening. There are a number of nice restaurants in the harbor area, all within easy walking distance. There are also a number of shops to pick up little knick-knacks in. Keep in mind even in summer Morro Bay is cool and will be overcast a lot of the time; have clothing to enjoy the balcony, a cool beach walk or bay cruise.

The Inn does have Wi-Fi but the signal in the rooms is so poor it is not really useful. I had a stronger signal from a hotel across the street than I did from the Inn’s system. The stainless steel hot tub is an adventure to use. The jet are strong and the stainless steel is so slippery that it makes it difficult to stay seated and enjoy the jets but it was warm and deep and relaxing.

Would I stay there again; absolutely!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor or towards the far end, away from the office, FYI there are no rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our first stay at the Embarcadero Inn was a real success. Although an older property (they still use actual keys), it is beautifully maintained, secure, and spectacularly clean.

We made reservations on short notice, and the hotel staff was wonderful in working with us. We even managed to get better rooms at the last minute due to cancellations. They were patient and courteous throughout several phone calls. We had two rooms: a King View Room and the Mini-Suite, both on the third floor. Both rooms were the same price. Both were nice, but we were especially impressed with the mini-suite we rented for our family. It was roomy with an extra-large balcony and kitchen area.

The staff offers a number of nice touches, like complementary coffee, baked goods, and even a sleeve of popcorn in the microwave. There is also a complementary breakfast every morning featuring two waffle makers. The hotel is located near a fun park for the kids and sits at one end of town. it's an easy stroll from one end of town and back to the hotel.

My only complaint—and it's a minor one—is with the free wi-fi. It cut out frequently, requiring signing on repeatedly. It was spotty at best. If you need to check email and surf the web, it will get you through your stay, but if you have downloads or websites to maintain, forget it.

If you're looking for a nice place to stay while visiting this Central Coast Fishing Village, don't look further than the Embarcadero Inn. It's a clean and cozy place to stay.

Room Tip: Best views on the third floor. Mini-Suite is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We love to hear that our staff is providing such great customer service. We appreciate you pointing out that the Wi-Fi was not working at full power. This is something that we are currently looking into upgrading, and should be resolved soon. Thank you again for joining us and for sharing your experience to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embarcadero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Inn

Address: 456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Embarcadero Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1986, this completely smoke-free, 32-room hotel has all the amenities, including flat-panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Each room faces the bay, most with private balconies and many with fireplaces. Free deluxe FreshFirst continental breakfast and free WiFi through out the hotel. Several room types are available, including standard rooms with queen or king beds, suites and a 2BR Family Suite. A state-of-the-art stainless steel hot tub that can accommodate up to 8 people is a must-use during your stay. Secure access to rooms elevator and free, covered parking is available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embarcadero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embarcadero Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.