We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a sweet seaside location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embarcadero Inn

Save Saved
You added Embarcadero Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embarcadero Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rate Guarantee
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place in a sweet seaside location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked in to this place just as a stopover when heading down Highway 1 back to LA, turned out to be SO much more than that.
We went for one of the cheaper rooms - with no view - but it was still a beautiful big room, really thoughfully laid-out with nice touches all over and still a little bit of a view to the sea!
Staff were brilliantly helpful, a great selection of restaurants nearby, and Morro rock is well worth a wander around, we saw a big colony of sea otters.
Self-serve breakfast that was included in the price was great too - even with a waffle iron to make your own fresh waffles!
Great stay - would go back for a few relaxing romantic nights if nearby and had enough time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We at the Embarcadero Inn are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Make sure to come back again when you have more time to explore the wonders of the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    98
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
144
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just came back from a 2 night stay at the Embarcadero Inn in Morro Bay. When we booked, we specifically asked for one of the end rooms with a full marina view. We were told all four of them were available for our stay. When we checked in, all four rooms were occupied and they had no notes of our request. Poor management makes for a poor experience. The room they gave us had a great view of a huge marine crane. That will definitely be our last stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south end are the best, but I wouldn't count on getting them, since they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are sorry you didn't get the room you expected. Sometimes unforeseen things happen where we must move a guest. We again apologize this happened to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

After staying in small, expensive rooms in large cities, the Embarcadero Inn was a much needed surprise. Our room was very large (king room, with view) and had plenty of room for a roll-a-way. We even had an option of an aero-bed instead of the roll-a-way. Quiet area, free parking and a free breakfast. Very helpful staff. INCREDIBLY CLEAN BATHROOM and room, best shower, ever. There was even a small couch in our room. I would definately recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have a great view and breakfast is served on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is a little gem, located at the quieter end of Embarcadero, yet close to the charming waterfront area of shops and restaurants. Our room was spacious and immaculate with great amenities. The view of the marina and Morro Rock from our 3rd floor balcony was great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was fresh and ample, and the in-room refrigerator and microwave were extremely convenient. We highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Morro Bay and will definitely return the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate all the nice things you have to say. We look forward to your return trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I loved every moment at this hotel. I had made a mistake in the reservation, making it a day earlier than intended. I didn't discover this until the day I was to arrive. No problem, said the owners. They had a room for the date needed and at a lesser rate because it didn't have a full view of the rock. I certainly thought it was a full view. But upon arrival, we were delighted with the small extra touches and surprises throughout, including a fireplace The balcony had a wonderful view of the bay and the beds were extremely comfortable. Best of all was the friendliness at the desk. They recommended a wonderful family restaurant, the Dockside, which served great food at very reasonable prices. I've always liked mom and pop establishments, and this stay only confirmed this opinion.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and all these rooms seemed to have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Glad we were able to help you out. We take pride in our service to each and every guest and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We planned to stay one night on our way to Santa Barbara. Our original intent was to drive back without stopping, but while there, we decided to also stay a night on our way back. They were able to book a room for us, even though it was only a few days' notice, and in July during the busy tourist season. They even gave us a discount for our second stay. Upon our return, we decided we wanted to stay two nights instead of one. We couldn't keep the same room, but they arranged for another room for the second night, and offered to store our baggage until check-in time. The rooms are spacious, there is a private balcony, and all the rooms face the bay. Don't be put off by the one-star rating. It is very pleasant there, and the continental breakfast is more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, ID
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here on our motorcycle trip up Hwy 1. The young man that checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful..gave me three room keys so I could check out options and then made a great deal on a room staying on a Sunday night. we got a spacious balcony room with great view of Morro Bay and rock. parking was underneath building which made it nice to not have to cover the bike. Would definitely stay here again when we pass through!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embarcadero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Inn

Address: 456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Embarcadero Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1986, this completely smoke-free, 32-room hotel has all the amenities, including flat-panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Each room faces the bay, most with private balconies and many with fireplaces. Free deluxe FreshFirst continental breakfast and free WiFi through out the hotel. Several room types are available, including standard rooms with queen or king beds, suites and a 2BR Family Suite. A state-of-the-art stainless steel hot tub that can accommodate up to 8 people is a must-use during your stay. Secure access to rooms elevator and free, covered parking is available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embarcadero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embarcadero Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.