We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect to hear your neighbors' conversations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embarcadero Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embarcadero Inn to your Saves list
Embarcadero Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Sun-Thurs
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expect to hear your neighbors' conversations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The walls are incredibly thin. We could hear the conversation of people in the adjoining room. They were not speaking especially loudly, but the sound carried clearly to our room. The next night, our neighbors were louder. The motel does not have anyone at the front desk after 10:00, so there is no way to contact anyone to tell guests to keep the noise down. It was very difficult for us to sleep.
We might have expected to hear neighbors’ conversations at one of the many low-end motels in Morro Bay, but not at the Embarcadero.
I wrote a polite letter to the manager detailing our complaints, but no one bothered to respond.
This motel has several nice amenities: a lovely view of the harbor, spacious smoke-free rooms and a decent continental breakfast. However, they are meaningless without a quiet room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
We at the Embarcadero Inn hope each visit is a great one. Sometimes things happen that cause a person to feel like it wasn't the best experience. Hopefully your next visit will be a quieter one. Our evening person leaves at 10:30pm but we have an on call person each evening to answer your calls and handle the situation if one should arise. I personally did not recieve any letter of complaint or I would have gladly answered with an apology. You may contact me personally and we will be glad to work out something on your next visit. The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    113
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
163
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had an awesome few days at the Embarcadero. From the outside, it looks a bit dated, but the place was spotless and we found it very quiet and convenient. The front desk people were extremely friendly and helpful. Our breakfasts were great as well. The location is excellent, with easy access to everything we needed in Morro Bay. We rarely used our car. The view out our window was amazing both in the morning (Morro Rock and fog rolling in) and evening (sunset). The hot tub was nice and only lightly used. Squeegies, water and paper towels in the covered parking was a nice extra.

Only complaint - and nothing to with the hotel - was the large number of noisy vehicles heading to the boat ramp on weekend mornings.

If we get a chance, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay. We will look forward to seeing you again real soon we hope. The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

We stayed one night here when we usually stay someplace in SLO. The Inn is right on the main strip of Morro Bay, so very convenient for walking to dinner and by the bay.

Our room was average - clean with a partial view of the water. The ceilings and walls are VERY thin though, so expect to hear guests walking around in the hallways and in the other rooms. Breakfast was mediocre at best. The waffle irons saved it cause otherwise it's bulk purchase muffins and bagels.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
We also love the location of our Inn. We are walking distances to all the restaurants and gift shops plus just across the street from kayaking. We offer a nice variety of breakfast foods for the traveler including hot and cold cereal, yogurt, bagels and cream cheese, waffles and hard boiled eggs just to mention a few things. We are sorry the other guests were noisy but sometimes that can't be helped. Hopefully your next stay will be during a quieter time and more relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

You will look far to find something cleaner than this hotel. They really do go the extra mile on that which was a great comfort to us. Unfortunately the guests in the room below us complained that we were walking too loudly. Which could not be helped as the floor is wooden. We also heard guests in the neighbouring room. Breakfast was included and decent.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

There website makes it look like they are waterfront but actually they are across the street and no beach access to water. It would be a good stop for $80 - $90 but nothing fancy for $125 + per night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Morro Bay is a quaint fishing village and our hotel faces the waterfront. It is a great spot to observe sea life and many birds. The swimming beach is located just 8 short blocks north of us so you have the best of both worlds. Our spacious balconies are great for bird watching so just ask at the front desk for a pair of complimentary binoculars. Remember everything is walking distance from The Embarcadero Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MIchigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked a reservation in the Family Suite during a trip up the California coast. We originally had two rooms reserved, but when a friend called about joining us for the night the staff at the hotel was very friendly and easy to work with to help us figure out the best room option. In the end, we decided on the family suite and were not disappointed, it was very spacious and beautiful!

We drove up from the LA region while our friend came down from San Francisco. We had a wonderful stay and loved the room. There was lots of space in the suite for our group of 5 adults (two bedrooms and pullout couch.) Everything was clean, comfortable, and well taken care of in our room with many new furnishings. We had two patios that overlooked the bay with views of Morro Rock.

Excellent location within walking distance of stores which provided a peaceful get away. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and liked how we were able to bring things back to our room to eat at the dining room table together. The Inn was just a short drive from Hearst Castle which we visited that day.

The entire staff was very friendly and we will definitely stay here in the future if our travels from Michigan ever get us to this region of California again.

Room Tip: Call the inn if you have questions, they will be very friendly and accomodating to your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here over Thanksgiving break for two nights. The hotel was not what I expected at all! It was so quaint, very clean, it looked brand new! The staff was helpful and very welcoming. They offer cookies and coffee or tea/hot chocolate in the lobby. We had room 206 and had two beds, fireplace, and balcony. The view from the balcony was great! Breakfast is complimentary: hard boiled eggs, assorted bagels, muffins, bread, cinnamon rolls (DELICIOUS), waffle station, yogurt, cereal, coffee and juice. If you are looking for eggs and bacon - you'll have to go out. But the waffles were amazing (malted batter)! I am planning on a repeat stay here soon! One nice touch -- the parking structure had window washing squeegees for those of us who had bug splattered windows. :)

Room Tip: The higher floor would be a little better view, but all seem great. If you are planning a trip in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We at the Embarcadero Inn are so delighted you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embarcadero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Inn

Address: 456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Embarcadero Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1986, this completely smoke-free, 32-room hotel has all the amenities, including flat-panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Each room faces the bay, most with private balconies and many with fireplaces. Free deluxe FreshFirst continental breakfast and free WiFi through out the hotel. Several room types are available, including standard rooms with queen or king beds, suites and a 2BR Family Suite. A state-of-the-art stainless steel hot tub that can accommodate up to 8 people is a must-use during your stay. Secure access to rooms elevator and free, covered parking is available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embarcadero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embarcadero Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.