We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem - faultless accommodation & service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Save
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list
897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Stockport, Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem - faultless accommodation & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I can't say enough good things about this place, all th staff we dealt with, email, phone and face to face were all really helpful. We only stayed for one night, we arrived quite late but were still shown personally to our room. The room was beautifully appointed, well laid out and was just perfect. We had a balcony overlooking the rock and the sun was setting. When we left the next day we were given an apple and water for the journey, they couldn't do enough for us.

We can also highly recommend the Galley for great seafood and impeccable service. We visited Hearst castle, which was a good half day trip, but well worth it and we kayaked in the bay for less than $20, for a double kayak.
We really enjoyed our stay in Morro Bay at the Anderson Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
272
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Found this hotel while looking on TripAdvisor for a place to stay in Morro Bay. I seriously doubted that this place could be as perfect as all the reviews made it sound, so I made the reservation while maintaining a healthy does of skepticism. All doubts flew out the window as soon as we pulled in and met Mollie. She warmly welcomed us and made us feel at home in an instant. It's a family business, and everyone we met -- including her brothers and father -- were sincere, friendly, professional and accommodating at all times, without being intrusive. These folks clearly have mastered the concept of hospitality.

We splurged for one of the waterfront rooms and absolutely loved it. Sitting on the easy chairs or balcony, we could watch sea lions frolicing just below us, gulls and pelicans flying by at eye level, and boats & kayaks gliding along. It was remarkably quiet and relaxing, since almost all of the tourist crowd walks along the street, which is on the opposite side of the building. The only noise was from live music at the bar next door (not terribly loud, but you could hear it) , which goes from about 8-11 pm nightly. After that it was totally silent, except for soothing sound of the occasional sea lion bark or gull call. I think I could actually feel my blood pressure dropping during the stay.

The only things that would improve the place are minor: (1) I wish that they included some kind of light pastries, even just biscotti, to go with the coffee & tea provided in the rooms, or that the terrific restaurant downstairs offered breakfast, and (2), I wish the bathrooms -- which are lovely -- had better water pressure. Our shower was large and had multiple heads and was really awesome in theory, but the water pressure was so low that you couldn't really use more than 1 shower head at a time without the sprays turning into trickles.

All in all, I loved it and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Wonderful welcome from Mollie (and Rodger and Jeff). Rooms are outstanding - very luxurious and immaculately clean. We had a premium room 'over the water' and could have sat in the comfy armchairs all day looking at the view - this room had the 'wow' factor. Our teenage children shared a 2 bed queen deluxe which still had a balcony with view of the bay and was gorgeous.
We had a stunning meal at 'The Galley', probably the best meal of our 3 week tour of California. We only spent one night at Anderson Inn and would have loved to have stayed longer to enjoy the rooms, but didn't find a lot to do in Morro Bay so it would be a good base for a short break (or longer if you just want to relax and enjoy the view). Breakfast at Frankie and Lola's was good but huge, so be careful not to over order.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We traveled through Morro Bay on a trip down the California Coast. The Anderson Inn is right on the water with stunning views. Morro Bay is a quaint little village with small shops and restaurants. A nice place to spend a day or two.

When we checked in, Molly greeted us as if we were family. She showed us our beautiful room with a view of the bay and Morro rock. She showed us how to use the heat and AC, although we didn't need either. She showed us how to regulate the wonderful shower. She even brought us extra coffee to brew in the morning as well as fresh cream that we stored in our fridge. Molly even suggested our boys (ages 15 and 17) go kayaking in the bay. They had never been before, but we walked to the kayak rental place two buildings away and got them situated. They were able to row over to the rock and watch the otters in the kelp beds while my husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine at a restaurant overlooking the water.

The Anderson Inn was extremely comfortable. The room was large and immaculate. The queen sized beds were very, very comfortable, and the shower was awesome. We were able to leave the sliding door of our balcony open during the night to enjoy the beautiful breeze. The Inn, in my opinion was the nicest in the area. And the restaurant attached to the inn was wonderful! Molly and I were discussing birthdays and she found out mine had been the previous day. When we went to the restaurant for dinner, my name was on the menu with a birthday greeting! What a neat surprise!

I would recommend the Anderson Inn to anyone who is staying in the area. They do not offer breakfast, but there are restaurants and bakeries within a short walk (try Frankie and Lola's for something different). Or you could bring your own cereal, baked good to the room and enjoy them on the balcony or on the dock.

Thank you Molly! You were a wonderful hostess! Wish we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This quaint 8 room inn is right in the middle of everything, you can walk to all the shops,restaurants and the famous Morro rock. Our room was upstairs with a balcony over the water. It came with views of the entire bay and Morro rock. The sunsets were postcard perfect. The room looked brand new with comfortable chairs, a jacuzzi tub and multiple spray shower. The owners treat you like your the only guest. You can't go wrong at the Anderson inn!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is the place to stay in Morro Bay! This inn is located down by the bay where the views are amazing in all directions. The wonderful owners Jeff and Mollie took such great care of us and were helpful in every way. The premium room is huge and has the best spa tub and shower in the area. The best seafood in the area is right underneath the inn at the Seafood Gallery - the food is wonderfully prepared and service is excellent! We plan on coming back to stay very soon!.
Hearst Castle in Cambria should not be missed - we took the Experience Tour which was fasinating - we plan on returning there to do the other tours too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We found Anderson Inn through Tripadvisor and booked a night there in May, when traveling down Highway 1 on our US vacation.
The owners welcomed us upon arrival, gave us a much appreciated tour of the property and set us up with a beautiful room on the second floor overlooking the bay and the Embarcadero.
The room was top notch, the best we stayed in during our 2 week vacation in California. Better than any Hilton or other upscale property and the food in the adjacent restaurant "The Galley" was magnificent!
I could not give this hotel a higher rating - super nice property, clean, great amenities and equipment in the room and the personal attention and service we got was really the best we experienced during our entire vacation! Thank you Jeff and Molly - you made our stay a memory for life!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.