We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and stylish room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Save Saved
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list
897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and stylish room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

This was our favourite hotel during our stay in California. Don't be put off by the power station nearby it only adds to the charm (!) Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of local information about restaurants and places to visit. After only arriving half an hour earlier we ventured out on a kayak to see sea lions and sea otters, only metres from the hotel. A great experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
249
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

As others have stated here, for lack of sounding like a broken record, Jeff and Molly really make you feel like special guests on arrival here and throughout your stay, even on checkout. They are just outstanding hosts and the hotel is immaculate - No detail has been left unattended - from the glass balconies that overlook the bay (there is nothing like watching seals swim past your room in the early morning) to the fresh cream for the coffee, to the outstanding showers / bathroom, this place is absolutely wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone who stays in this area.

I also highly recommend the Galley restaurant that is located just downstairs. The fresh fish is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Host Jeff can't ask for better! This place was clean, trendy & very confortable. Would recommend it to my best friend!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ont.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Anderson Inn this past August and simply loved it. We had the room that overlooked the harbour, and the view was spectacular.

Molly (the host) could not be more helpful and pleasant. The room was amazing, with a great bed, plasma TV's, beautiful modern bathrooms and a great balcony.

I have travelled all over the world and stayed at some top notch hotels, and this is the little hotel that can keep up with them.

Make sure you eat at the Galley if you stay there. I had some great seafood during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We didn't intend to visit Morrow Bay (only stayed because we were unable to book two nights in Monterey because of a car rally). So glad we did! We arrived early afternoon after driving from Santa Barbara and spent a lovely afternoon wandering around the harbour and walking out to the rock. Kids were thrilled with the wildlife - sea otters, seals, pelicans etc. Room was lovely and overlooked the harbour - first thing I saw when going out onto the balcony the morning after our stay were 3 seals playing in the water yards in front our room. Jeff and Molly were extremely helpful - advised us about area and the drive up highway 1 and brought fresh milk to our room for morning coffee - only time this happened throughout our entire trip. Didn't eat in the gallery as we have 2 fish allergic children and thought a restaurant along the harbour had a better menu choice for them - this was probably a mistake and would definitely eat at the Gallery if we were to return. We had to check out early - this was no problem and Molly recommended a local cafe for breakfast which was good. We have lovely memories of our brief stay in Morrow Bay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Anderson Inn for our Anniversary. This place couldn't have been more perfect. We had a room over the water. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, great tv, fireplace, and a wonderful jacuzzi tub. The view was beautiful. We also ate downstairs at the Galley Restaurant which was also spectacular. We have already made our reservations for next year and can't wait to go back. Molly and Jeff...I can't say enough about your wonderful place...The Allen's.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, which was very nice, though view was of the bar across the parking lot (you could crane your neck to see the ocean, though balcony was so small only room for 1 chair). Room was incredibly clean with white bed linens, high ceiling, nice TV, great bathroom (with lighted magnifying mirror mounted on wall), easy parking, free wireless, and spacious. The hosts are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need - if they see you walking by on the street, they will come out and greet you! If you are the type of person who likes to be anonymous in a hotel and come and go as you please with no one noticing, this is probably not the place for you. But if you like personal attention, then you will love it! We ate at the Galley - to me it was the same as any touristy not-very-good seafood restaurant. The seafood on the seafood salad tasted like it had been cooked the day before and refrigerated. I recommend Shawn's on Main for a great meal worthy of NY or SF.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.