We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of home on our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Save
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list
897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A taste of home on our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This review is very overdue but while discussing with friends about our visit to Morro Bay this weekend I reminded myself that I must provide a review.

My husband and myself were travelling up the coast from LA to San Francisco on our honeymoon at the start of July and we were making multiple stops on the way up. From reading the reviews on trip advisor we knew that we HAD to stay at The Anderson Inn. We stayed there from the 8th-9th July.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with open arms from Molly who quite honestly is the most wonderful person I have ever met. We both instantly felt at home which was a welcome change as we had been staying in large hotels for the past week or so. We sat with Molly in the office as she told us all about Morro Bay and all the places that we must go and see not only in Morro Bay but also up the coast to San Fran. She then took us up to our room and told us proudly that we had the best room in the Inn and we most certainly did!! The room was stunning and had the most beautiful view from the balcony. It was so cosy and just like being at home. She also, very kindly gave us a complimentary bottle of wine which was also delicious.

After reading the reviews on trip advisor we also pre-booked a table at The Galley for dinner that evening. The food was so fresh and just superb. It had a really fun, lively atmosphere which was also a welcome change as some of the places we had eaten had been overly fancy and a little stuffy!! This place was great fun and amazing quality and very reasonable in price.

When we left the next day both myself and my husband were a little sad as we really wish we had booked to stay longer. The feeling we had was a true testament to the very hard work that Molly and family put in to this magical Inn....

It would be true to say that people make a place wonderful and although Morro Bay is a stunning little town, Molly made it perfect for us. A true hostess and a fabulous lady. One we will never forget.

Thank you all. You really made our honeymoon and we hope to see you all again soon.

Very best wishes,

Emma & Richard from Surrey, England xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in lovely bay front room with a seagull perched on our adjoining deck. Owners are delightful,gave us a complimentary upgrade when a cancellation occurred. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We love this boutique inn on Morro Bay! My husband and I were there May, 2013 and had the most wonderful time thanks to owners Molly and Jeff Anderson and their lovely, completely renovated Inn right on the water. A third sibling, Roger, was not there, but I am sure he is as hospitable as Molly and Jeff who treat each visitor as if they are guests in the Anderson home. Molly greeted us warmly and showed us our wonderful room with a balcony over the water and every amenity you could want, including a fireplace, large bathroom with jetted tub, and very comfortable bed. We wanted to try the adjacent restaurant, which we heard was excellent, but were too tired so we grabbed a pizza and Jeff couldn't have been nicer. He brought up plates and silverware to make it an elegant picnic in our room with an exquisite view. For us the Inn was such a romantic setting. We were even serenaded by some amusing sea lions.
Both Jeff and Molly were so engaging and fun to talk with about the area in general, how they'd renovated the Inn, and growing up there. Their warmth and hospitality makes the place so special. Molly also gave us great recommendations for sights and things to do,and we are thankful for her suggestion to visit the huge Montana De Oro state park, which we really enjoyed.
We would love to return to the Anderson Inn and I am sure we will. It's small, 8 rooms, so make reservations early. We highly recommend it and give it an A+ rating.

Room Tip: Pick one of the three Premium rooms that overlook Morro Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Anderson Inn was our first night's stop on our Road Trip traveling north along the California coast. Jeff and Molly (brother and sister) welcomed us into their "perfect" small town inn. Jeff and Molly have provided every thoughtful detail for your needs; a really comfortable chair with a warm "throw" to keep you toasty, a shower with three shower heads to provide water at every location of your body at the same time. Jeff met us in their office and introduced us to the Inn and took us to our room and showed and explained everything about the room we needed to know.

Jeff arranged a dinner reservation at The Gallery attached to the Inn, he provided information about timing our short drive to the Hearst Castle to help us arrive on time, and then made a breakfast suggestion for the following morning.

Morro Bay is a picturesque small California coastal town and the Anderson Inn is the place to stay. Make reservations because it is small, and arrive early to enjoy the town and the warmth of the Inn. Say hi to Jeff and Molly and tell them we tripadvisor people love their Inn.

Room Tip: Reserve early. All the rooms share the same hospitality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved this hotel, rooms were beautifully decorated , ocean view and very comfortable, but the best part of visiting this hotel was meeting the wonderful, welcoming owners, Jeff and Molly ( siblings). They were so friendly and hospitable and were so accommodating and helpful; answering all our questions with great patience.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortunate60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 for 2 nights at the start of our 7 day pacific coastal highway trip from LA to San Francisco during the last week of September. All the reviews are true. The hosts were wonderful. The best meal was at the Galley - especially the scallops - which is conveniently located downstairs. We walked to see the otter by the rock and the weather was perfect.Rooms are spacious with high ceilings.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbiedoll_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was one of if not the most memorable places to stay on our journey down the California coast. My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights but I could have stayed longer, Morro Bay is a beautiful and relaxing place to visit and the Anderson Inn the best hotel (in my opinion) We had the best hosts I have ever met in all the years of traveling, very welcoming and friendly and did what they could to make our stay the best it could be. This place really deserves all of the positive reviews and accolades it gets.

The food at the galley inn was great too.

We will definitely visit again next time we are in California.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro Bay
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#2 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Suites
Ascot Suites
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing