We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disapppoint! Fantastic service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did not disapppoint! Fantastic service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very clean, modern room. Great location and The Galley restaurant downstairs was also fantastic. So glad we had dinner reservation because there was a long wait. The Anderson family is top notch in service! Molly had fresh cream placed in the fridge for my morning coffee. If you come with children be sure they take a peak insie the hotel office after hours -- a large stuffed bear sits at the desk, which was pretty cute. Awoke to the sound of seals barking, which I enjoyed, but if you want to sleep in you might want to request ear plugs. Owners asked about our kayaking trip and remembered our kids' names the next day. Upon checkout they gave us fresh apples and cool water bottles for our drive up to Yosemite.

Room Tip: Traveling with kids and needed two queen beds, so couldn't get the premium rooms over the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
221
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

we spent only one night at the Anderson Inn but very much wish we could have stayed longer. The business is run by the Anderson family and only the Anderson family. One of the owners who (I think I remember) was called Molly postponed a meeting so that she could greet us on arrival. We then met her brother who was also extremely welcoming and escorted each of us to our rooms and pointed out all of the amenities in the room and explained how to use thelightsand the shower. An improvement however could be that all of the rooms could have bath tubs instead of just the ones with an ocean view. Moro Bay is only a small town and the main tourist attractions are gift shops, kayaking and boating and the inn is located very close to these facilities. It also has a great view of Morro Rock, the seals, sea lions and otters. When we left we had a long car journey to Santa Monica and Molly pointed out the best route to take because of the heavy traffic via Santa Barbara that weekend as it was fiesta time. She then gave us all water and offered us apples for our trip. The rooms were also very cozy and welcoming are are decorated beautifully. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to anyone travelling to Morro Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

One night stay on way down highway one. Rooms are nice but I believe the premium rooms at the sea edge of hotels have best views. Given warm welcome from the owner who was very friendly. Ate at the galley restaurant under the hotel which was also very good. On checkout the owner kindly have us peanuts and chilled water for the rest of our road trip. If in the area would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I just spent two wonderful days in Morro Bay at the Anderson Inn. You could not ask for a greater view ( we stayed in one of the Premium rooms over looking the bay) or a nicer room. Everything was spotlessly clean, the staff was very friendly, the location is perfect, in walking distance of everything the town has to offer. Molly and Jeff were fantastic hosts very accommodating and super friendly. We had such a wonderful experience that we have booked a return visit in December for the Christmas Holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the premium rooms overlooking the Bay on our roadtrip up the Pacific Coast Highway. The room was wonderfully clean and the welcome from Jeff and Molly was amazing. We could have gazed at the view all day long especially with the fishing boats floating by. It was a shame we only could stay for one night but you should definitely eat in the restaurant downstairs as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The coast road from Carmel down to Morro Bay is one of the best drives in the world.
Carmel is the opposite of Morro Bay. Morro Bay is a great place for families, couples, easy going, lots of restaurants, beaches and tourist spots without the elite image and the elite prices and the crowds.
Morro Bay is heaven sent.
We booked the Anderson Inn, one night, room rate was great, service was very friendly. It is a smaller hotel located near Morro Rock and right in the midst of all the restaurants and shops. The rooms are excellent and the view outside are balcony was magical, a view of Morro Rock at night, was great. Innkeeper was very nice, very friendly, while he was not in his office he placed a big 4 foot stuffed bear as friendly guardian. LOL
Great.
Only issue was parking, we got parking but they don't have a large parking area at the hotel.
ratings from other trip advisor clients are well deserved, this place is a gem.
If given the choice between spending more time in Trendy Carmel or down to earth Morro Bay, would pick Morro everytime. We enjoyed our time there. Hotel is family run and it shows.

Room Tip: A room on north side, the balconies overlook Morro Rock, really cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Jeff and Molly made us feel at home, the room was beautiful, extremely comfortable - the view gorgeous. Frankly, we didn't want to leave. We only stayed in Morro Bay one night as part of our drive down the coast, but we will be certain to visit again.

Room Tip: We needed a room with two queen beds, so we weren't directly on the water - still our view was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anderson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list