We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18610 Madrone Parkway, Morgan Hill, CA 95037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Morgan Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Clean and Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a relatively new property that provides reasonable access to the Bay Area and the Monterey Peninsula. It was a little farther from San Jose than I had estimated, but the drive is easy and the room rate is very reasonable. Checkin was totally painless and the staff were helpful. This hotel does not have free breakfast, but it does have a very comfortable cafe/lounge area adjacent to the lobby. The facility and rooms are very clean and new. I was on a business trip and this hotel worked very well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
13
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Just call it Morgan Hill cos that's where it is! San Jose is about 15 minutes away to the North. The 101 is good so you will be in SJ in no time if that's what you need.

This courtyard has had 'the makeover' and I like it. The lobby/diner is smart and colourful. If you haven't yet seen the signature 'grassy breakfast bar' then you should. The area is welcoming and open. Staff were pleasant and helpful (see note to manager at the end of this review) and were all smiles - I think it's a California thing. My room was good, though the air con was noisy, so I turned it off (February). Good nearby amenities; cross the street for a strip mall and cross the 101 for a larger retail area with Target etc. There are a couple of bar/diners near Target, easily walkable (yeah, like with your actual legs) as there is a sidewalk all the way. Don't drink and drive, people.

My rate for 3 days was high, but it is Silicon Valley, I've knocked a point off for that.

You are right in the heart of Santa Clara county which is blessed with some beautiful parks. I went out each day for a run in a different area, try coyote lake for a steep but great 6 mile circuit.

(Dear Manager, in your next team huddle remind the staff that you are in park country. I did get some rudimentary advice about where to go outdoors, and was given a scrappy photocopy of a trail, but a simple search on the web, after seeing the poster in the elevator, revealed just how massive the outdoor opportunities are near the hotel. I printed stuff in the lobby and took it with me - you nearly lost a point for this but that would be harsh)

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for quick access to a Mission (school project). Courtyard is centrally located to most of the South Bay and Gilroy is within 10 minutes drive. The hotel is clean, the 1 bedroom suite was nice, but the pullout sofa was awful so we opted to take the adjoining room that vacated the next morning at an additional cost. The staff is very friendly and this hotel was a hub for soccer games, but the staff managed to keep the place clean and poo towels staffed. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here as we wanted to be near the Aquatic Center. It's just an exit away. Unless you're staying right across the street from the Aquatic Center you're driving anyway. There's an indoor heated pool and a cafe. In-n-Out is a 1 minute walk plus you have other retailers like Walmart and McDonald's across the street, and Target on other side of freeway. Typical Marriott Courtyard amenities and cleanliness but the people were generally very nice. For example, it was pouring rain one night and there were no more parking spots in front, the night hotel receptionist told me to see her when I got back and she would give up her spot for me. Very nice gesture.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a newly remodeled location. It was clean, friendly and in a great location. Lots of restaurants and retail near by. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The staff is required to come around the counter and shake hands now...this is something that felt silly and unnecessary in my opinion. Not something that will keep me away though. We will stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We’ve stayed at this Courtyard before and found it clean, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. But when we checked in this time it looks like somebody decided to make it “better” by adding a refrigerator and microwave. Unfortunately there isn’t enough room to do this.

In order to shoe horn the refrigerator and microware in, they first bolted four casters to an oversized piece of plywood, put the refrigerator on this and then stacked the microwave on top. Again unfortunately the microwave is bigger than the ‘fridge and two of its feet hang in midair. Not only does this look really tacky and hinder access to the bed, it is unsafe. When sitting on the sofa the microwave hangs precariously over your head. With the lights out this monstrosity lies in wait to rip the skin off you ankle or break a toe should you try to get out of bed.

The designers, decorators and corporate safety people had done a pretty good job on this room – somebody undid all their work.

This time we wheeled the “tower’ out onto the terrace. Next time we’ll find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan P, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sorry you had such a bad experience with us. It seems you had a temporary refrigerator in your room which should have been removed prior to your arrival. We will work on this with our Housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came up for the Garlic Festival, and this hotel is just right up the road, an easy drive to Gilroy! Hotel was a typical Courtyard....nice, clean, friendly and staff was very helpful. It was near a Chilis and a convenience/gas station. Also, we ordered a pizza one night...I can't remember the name, but the front desk guy recommended it.....really a fabulous pie!

Room Tip: I don't think one is better than another....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill

Address: 18610 Madrone Parkway, Morgan Hill, CA 95037
Location: United States > California > Morgan Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Morgan Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill Hotel Morgan Hill
Courtyard Morgan Hill
Morgan Hill Marriott
Morgan Hill Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose South/Morgan Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.