We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleu Cheese Salad - YUM!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mimi's Cafe

Mimi's Cafe
12590 Day St, Moreno Valley, CA 92553
951-653-2511
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 209 restaurants in Moreno Valley
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bleu Cheese Salad - YUM!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A sweet little cafe that offers take-out. I was met by a VERY friendly host who took my take-out order. The bleu cheese salad (with cranberries, walnuts, a mix of greens and a tasty vinaigrette) was large and scrumptious. I also ordered a banana/strawberry smoothie that was so good. The order came with one of their massive locally-famous muffins, too.

The restaurant is cozy and has a comfortable little bar area with a large-screen TV. Prices are very reasonable. I'd definitely go there again - this time to eat on-site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    8
    5
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SLOW service and bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I usually really like Mimi's Cafe and have eaten in several of them in different areas but this one is exceptionally bad and has been the last couple of times we went in there. We only went this time because I had a coupon for buy one meal get one free meal with the catch of ordering 2 beverages. We were in about 8:30pm on a Friday night and it looked like they had just been hit by a blizzard, dirty tables everywhere the servers apologizing for the kitchen being backed up and people in the bar very upset by the service being super slow and no bartender to be found. We sat down pretty quick but waited over 45 minutes for 2 salads which had way too much dressing on them and old lettuce and 2 soups which were super slow to come out. Everyone seated around us had the same experience. That was the last time we will be going there. If you are in the area, go to Applebee's next door or keep driving not worth the stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Predictable menu. Good food most the time. Breakfast is best meal served.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Got served late Saturday night (after 8:00). Food took long and was bland at best. Ordered cole slaw with meal and it tasted like warm sauerkraut. No one at the table enjoyed their meal. Paid over $60.00 for 4 meals much better served at a Denny's. Got to look at dirty plates stacked up at most other empty tables as we ate. Never again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oh my, Mimi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I thought chain restaurants were pretty consistent in quality. Not sure if this was the exception or the rule for the Mimi chain. The young staff was enthusiastic and helpful. But there are quality questions in the product they serve. The green salad I was served had an overly salty balsamic dressing with the added bonus of a 5 inch long black hair. The chicken breast was rubbery and impossible to cut even with the large steak knife they provided. The piece I did manage to tear off and spit out was gristle. The chocolate dessert was so sweet it hurt. The one good thing was the bread basket. But, still can’t understand the concept of providing carrot cake or date nut cake to go with salad or soup instead of a nice crusty French bread. Some of the food issues are corporate formulas. But the kitchen staff’s lack of quality control made it much worse.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Cafe also viewed

Moreno Valley, CA
Moreno Valley, CA
 
Moreno Valley, CA
Moreno Valley, CA
 

Been to Mimi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimi's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.