We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Grill

Sonora Grill
23962 Alessandro Blvd, Ste V, Moreno Valley, CA 92553-8805
951-697-0028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 212 Restaurants in Moreno Valley
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm not a huge hot dog person, but OMG! This place has the best Sonora Hot Dog. My family and I love to go as a special "treat". It's a small place, but the owner's are very friendly & welcoming. The Carne Asada fries are a delicious treat as well. Looking forward to going again soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
577 helpful votes 577 helpful votes
“Always tasty new menu items at Sonora Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stopped in Sonora Grill on a recent blustery, rain-drenched day and found the cook Rudy just finishing up a batch of his delicious new dish, Jalisco-style "Carne en su Jugo" soup which will certainly put meat on your bones and 'juice' in your blood. Rich with beef trimmings, beans, veggies and tomatillo spices, this hearty item warmed me up fast. It was a hit with everyone in the restaurant. Its a bit 'picante' so you might want your beverage in advance.

As the "Moreno Valley Discovery Restaurant" for 2011, Sonora Grill continues to gain popularity and a following on Facebook and on special football broadcast nights. Don't forget his Sonoran dogs. Check the website and FB page for coupons and specials. Bottom line: Great atmosphere, friendly welcome, good prices and tasty dishes, I very highly recommend Sonora Grill for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Hey forget Tucson, this is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

To be honest I never gave much thought to Sonoran Hot Dogs while living in Arizona and frequently visiting Tucson. But on a recent trip to California, a friend said I Have to take you to the Sonoran Grill for a authentic Sonoran Hot Dog. Well let me tell you, it was the best hot dog I have ever had. The bun alone was simply great. Soft, fresh and made on site. The owner of this place has it down! So forget waiting to go to Tucson for the locally reknowned treat, you can get it right here in Southern California and I guarantee whether you're a fan of hot dogs or not, one bite of one of his Sonoran Dogs and you will be hooked.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“What? Sonoran hotdogs a la Tucson, Az here? No way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a surprise. Happened by this little shopping mall and the "Sonora Grill" sign caught my eye. Being from Tucson, the birthplace of the Sonoran Dog, I determined that we had to stop and check it out. Well, friends, this guy Rudy, he did it. He blew away the famous "Tucson Sonoran hotdog". As we say in the old pueblo, "he threw himself". For those of you who speak Spanish that's means "se avento!" The dog was great, the jalapeno salza was great and Rudy piled it on for me as I like it hot. And those beans, wow. I tried to get him to give me the recipe but no luck, "its a secret," Rudy said. Well, after I polished off that dog I just had to try a "carne asada" taco on a flour tortilla. Chihuahua, that taco was the best and generous too! I'm telling you, next time I visit your fair city, that Sonora Grill is my first stop. Oh, I almost forgot, the Modelo Especial was the perfect way to polish off that hot dog and that taco. Good luck Rudy and Rosie. That Guero Canelo in Tucson is gonna get jealous when he gets to taste one of your hotdogs.....

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
577 helpful votes 577 helpful votes
“Genuine Sonoran dogs at last arrive in Moreno Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Finally, authentic and delicious Tucson-style Sonoran hot dogs have arrived in 'Mo Vall'! Rudy, the manager at Sonora Grill has committed the resources and talent necessary to bring these doggies to the picky palates of local Mexican Food fans. He actually was schooled in their preparation by cooks from the world-famous "El Guero Canela" establishment in Arizona.

I've looked high and low all over the Inland So Cal counties, and have been so far disappointed at offerings of so-called Sonoran dogs. The secret is in the bun: Rudy bakes his own genuine boat-shaped, soft, El Guero & Sonoran-style hot dog buns... they are not wholesaled from a vendor!

Rudy goes on to decorate the dogs in authentic style: The bacon, the jalapeno sauce, fresh beans, salsa, sprigs of mayonnaise and so on to please one and all, especially kids and adults acting like kids. You'll want to wash it all down with soft drinks or beer or even Jarritos Mexican sodas like the flavorful tamarindos. Check out the website and find the Sonoran hamburgers and other culinary treats. The shop makes all their own tortillas, too. Oh so fresh!

The restaurant is very clean and the staff is eager to please. Check out the custom Sonoran artwork and metal sculpture on the walls. Best to enter the little strip mall that Sonora Grill resides in by coming off of Heacock Ave. You can exit by Alessandro.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora Grill also viewed

Moreno Valley, CA
Moreno Valley, CA
 

Been to Sonora Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.