We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Secret Garden
255 E High St, Moorpark, CA 93021
(805) 552-9523
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 84 Restaurants in Moorpark
Price range: $30 - $30
Dining style: Casual Dining
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The food was cold, salty, looked good but tasted like Denny's.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tucked away in old downtow Moorpark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

What a great find. A beautiful little French restaurant with a relaxing garden and a covered patio to enjoy a wonderful meal and a bottle of wine .... or cocktails !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding and reception in Garden area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Family members had reserved the Secret Garden (the real garden in back) for a wedding and there were about 100 in attendance. We came from out of state and I had read the awful reviews before arriving, so I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the service and food we had for the wedding and reception. We were there from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m. on a Sunday and everything was top notch- there were plenty of servers, very efficient and pleasant, and the food was very good, with good variety and great presentation. The only negative experience was with the restrooms, as they were not adequate for a party of our size- only one for women and one for men and the area outside of the restrooms had a very unpleasant urine smell. Didn't notice much traffic in the main part of the restaurant, but our group was happy with the wedding experience there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t/o
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coupon not honored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Poor Food/ Over Priced as well
Slow service
Chef/Owner did not want or care about pleasing the customers
Would not honor his own coupon!
What a JOKE!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I had bad experiences with this restaurant several years ago. I then saw it profiled on Ramseys Kitchen Nightmares which confirmed my worst fears. I was coaxed into returning for a Mother's Day brunch. Horrible experience. Orders were late and incorrect. Salmon was undercooked. Eggs benedict was overcooked (how do you screw that up?). Roasted potatoes were bland. Mashed potatoes were cold (appeared to the powdered sort). Etc, etc. The chef came out at one point and he looked as though he hadn't bathed or washed his clothes in weeks. All very appetizing. The only high point was the service. We had to apologize to my mother - after paying a hefty tab. Never goin back!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.