We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elite is the Word for this Dim Sum Parlor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Restaurant

Elite Restaurant
700 S Atlantic Blvd, Monterey Park, CA 91754
(626) 282-9998
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 138 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Elite is the Word for this Dim Sum Parlor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Let's go down to Elite for a Saturday Dim Sum brunch. Ok. Long drive to Monterey park, well worth the drive!
The restaurant is on a main drag in the heart of Chinese food paradise. The dim sum was served to a bunch of us in a private room where we gorged ourselves with food and wine pairings--mostly white wines and bubblies, a few reds.
What I liked most is that every course was ordered by us and served to us. None of this "off the cart" stuff of most Dim Sum houses. The classics were filled with veggies, pork, shrimp, chicken, etc. All delicious, succulent and the like. Tea was divine. Ill be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in the San Gabriel Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Even tho I am not Asian, I have been to over 25 dim sum places in the SGV. This is the best. The Scallop Dumpling is the best dim sum item in town. The Dry Scallop Roll Fun is excellent too. There are no carts, but everything comes out fresh and generally do not stick to the tray, like in some places that do not use carts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Yes, it's a zoo on the weekends. The joint is jumping, but calling ahead got us a table immediately on arrival, and the great dim sum just kept on coming.

Incredible variety and a myriad of sauces. Plump chicken feet, abalone in sticky rice laced with pork, you name it, they have it.

Pricing is weird. Just some alphabetical code. And don't try going to their website. Not even clear if you read Chinese.

Some dim sum is offered by roaming wait staff, but there is also a large check-off menu, so things are brought directly to your table. Oddly, our desert dish arrived before anything else.

Plentiful, attentive multitasking waiters. Noise level a tad high, and the energy is fever-pitched.

But, if you are looking for tasty and authentic dim sum, this is the place to be.

Visited December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good, but be ready for lines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very good dim-sum for lunch, but also long lines on weekends.
Arrive early or late. Likely to go again.

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average Dim Sum. No more, No less.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After getting high marks from Yelp, Chowhound, and even the esteemed Mr. Jonathan Gold, I finally trekked to Monterey Park. Arrived there at 12:45pm, lunch hour crowd, got lucky with the parking. Waited for an hour plus to get seated. Once there, we ordered 10 items of dim sum. For 2 people, that's a lot of food. We ordered the must have's. Har Kaw, Siu Mai, Lotus wrapped rice, egg tart, Shrimp rice roll (their's was different, it's a mixed of shrimp with chinese donut), spare-ribs, almond shrimp ball, noodle with xo sauce, mushroom dumpling with meat, and roasted pork.

Living in Vancouver for 10+ years and having visited HK countless times growing up has given me the privilege of eating some of the best dimsums out there. After much comparison, Elite falls short of that expectation especially with high regards from the sites/people i've mentioned. However, this place is still good nonetheless.


Siu Mai lacked depth of taste, not enough pork flavor. Texture is beautiful though.

Har Kaw, almost opaque outer layer, good sized chunks of shrimp, good flavor but not enough to give you that mouthgasm all foodies look for.

Lotus wrapped rice, I loved this. Very flavorful rice, generous pork, mushroom, and sausage. Almost a 10/10. why almost? It's missing a salted yolk. If they had the salted yolk, this dish would have been magical.

Shrimp rice roll, I like the concept but still falls short in terms of flavor. The rice roll has no flavor which it gets from the soy sauce and the inner filling but being deep fried shrimp/chinese donut in the middle, the flavor got lost. The sauce they poured was generic and not enough of it. I'd go for the traditional ha chong next time. Pass.

steamed pork spareribs, unlike other restaurants who serves small spare-ribs, the ones here are good sized and very meaty. Has a very nice subtle flavor but very very good. Tender pork, good fat/meat ratio on each bite.

Almond shrimp ball, my wife wanted to try it as it seems off to put thinly sliced almond on the shrimp ball. On the first bite, the almond tends to suck all moisture from your mouth that may cause you to cough but once you build up saliva again (sorry for the graphic explanation) you then taste the shrimp flavor. It has very good shrimp flavor, good bouncy texture, but the almond throws it all off.

Noodle with xo sauce. Such a disappointment. No XO flavor at all, lacked taste, and very bland overall.

Roasted pork, very thinly sliced roasted pork but flavor is a-ma-zing. Who would've thought that those thin slices pack so much punch? I didn't even need to dip it in the sauce anymore. Crunchy skin. Makes me want to ask them for thick slices of this bad boy.

Mushroom dumpling with meat. A big sized dumpling, on the first bite, there's a mix of flavor, it's like they wrapped whatever was left in the kitchen to make this dumpling but it works! Very filling and loved the bits of yellow corn kernels.

Egg Tart, I would come back to this. I really wound. Flaky layered crust with a soft as pillow filling. I did not want to share this with my wife. I ate 2 1/2 of it and no matter how full I was, I had to eat it. This is a perfect egg tart.

I also checked off bbq pork bun (cha-siu bao) but they didn't get to put the order in but I didn't argue anymore as we were pretty full at this point. next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elite Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.