We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value meal in Monterey Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Lu Dumpling House Mp

Mama Lu Dumpling House Mp
501 W Garvey Ave, Ste 101, Monterey Park, CA 91754-2757
626-282-2256
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 138 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Monterey Park, Ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best value meal in Monterey Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you love a value Northern style Chinese meal, you will find Mama Lu's Dumpling House in Monterey Park a great choice, There are 3 locations in Monterey Park. Each offering a slightly different menu. The restaurant at 501 W. Garvey Avenue is the newest location. The restaurant offers the very tasty traditional Northern style Chinese dishes at a very reasonable price and with large portions. The menu offers dumpling dishes made of many different ingredients. My favorite is dumplings made of cabbages & pork. If you like, you can buy frozen ready-made dumplings to take home at a reasonable price. The Shanghai rice noodles dishes are also must try. The restaurants are usually very crowded with customers in line at normal meal times, so try to get there early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
467 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Big portions, cheap prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you look past the "less than stellar" customer service, this is a great place for food.

There's two entrances to the restaurant, and you have to hunt down the hostess to put down your name. The girl could be looking straight at you, but unless you tell her you're here to put your name down and get a number, you'll never get a table. Yes, I think she's that dimwitted.

Once you put down your name, it's locked in. You cannot change the number in your party, and your party must be present to be seated.

A word of warning when walking to your table. The floors are greasy, so make sure your shoes have traction. I was wearing a shoes with traction, i practically slipped to my table. Makes me wonder how often they mop the floor or kitchen!

The menu is very large. Plenty of variety. Do not let your eyes get bigger than your stomach, unless you really want to bring home leftovers.

The portions were HUGE. For two people, we ordered two types dumplings, a vegetable dish, shanghai rice cake noodles, and the beef wrap. We got all that food and took home half the rice cake, three pieces of the beef wrap, and half of the pea sprout... For $40 with tax and tip! Compared to the famous Din Tai Fung, the meal would have cost more, and zero left over.

The speed of bringing out the food is actually incredibly fast. The food came out about 15 minutes after ordering, and within 20 minutes we had all the dishes.

Hunting down someone to refill your teapot or bring your check was impossible.

There's parking in the back, and plenty on the street. Don't expect the best customer service, and you will have to flag down people if you want to be helped.

Food = B+ (portions big)
Service for food= A
Customer service= C

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to Mama Lu Dumpling House (501 W Garvey Ave,MP) several times and the food tasted really great. The price is OK. Card accept. But it close at 9pm(week day?). Strongly recommended

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, GA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was hoping for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Great authentic Chinese food, and as the only non Asian there, I noticed it is loved by locals as well, as the place was full with a short wait. The menu, while authentic had pictures and English which is helpful for when you like the real stuff but can never remember the Chinese names for it. I was by myself so I could only get a few things and the portions were so large I couldn't finish them. I got the green onion pancake, pork dumplings, and salt/pepper shrimp..... all excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great, clean Chinese restaurant. Had the spicy wonton, deep fried seaweed coated fish (like Chinese fish and chips, without the chips), on choy and pan fried sesame seed, veggie buns. All were delicious, not too greasy and well cooked. The on choy was really well done, not tough, well seasoned. All this was less than $30 including tax and tip. The service was fast and efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Lu Dumpling House Mp also viewed

 

Been to Mama Lu Dumpling House Mp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Lu Dumpling House Mp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.