We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its good clean food. friendly atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hat

The Hat
2300 S Atlantic Blvd, Monterey Park, CA 91754-6837
323-721-3656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 163 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Monterey Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“its good clean food. friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

not enough food
for the price. parking is tuff especially on weekend nights. they are fast,friendly,profession. overall pretty good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you like pastrami!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you like pastrami, you will enjoy the sandwich served here. They give a very decent amount of meat. Sometimes the roll was a little hard but I always ask for it to be dipped. There is a little bit of a wait especially at lunch time. Service though is usually quick. Staff is not the friendliest. Price is good for what you get. I use to go once a week when I worked in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best pastrami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place has the best pastrami and you must try the wet fries as well. The place only has outside sitting so be aware. There is usually parking space in the back but sometimes it gets full really fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Pastrami Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went twice in two days. I ordered the pastrami sandwich both times. The sandwich was so large that I couldn't even touch the fries. The restaurant is clean and the service was fast, especially considering how many people was in the restaurant. We surprisingly found a table on both trips. Well worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“World Famous Pastrami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

World famous pastrami is the perfect way to describe this place. I had the pastrami dip which came with about a pound of pastrami on the sandwich along with a brown bag full of fries. It was so much food that I could only finish half of the sandwich, and with the cost being only $7.99, it's was a steal! I'll be eating here a few more times before I leave California.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hat also viewed

 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 

Been to The Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.