We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luminarias

Luminarias
3500 Ramona Blvd, Monterey Park, CA 91754
3232684177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 160 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corporate Center Drive or Ramona Blvd
1 review
“Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Luminarias is awesome!!! I attended their holiday in August event. Got to meet the vendors and tried their holiday appetizer s errr yummy I will def be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Went here to celebrate a family member's birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The appetizers were okay but never have heard of chicken wings or fried calamari at a Mexican restaurant. The seafood ceviche was decent but no kick in it. I ordered the red snapper, it was cooked nicely with a fresh jicama slaw. My husband had the carne Asada; it was cooked fine (he ordered it medium rare) but it was not cut as it should have been. The drinks were okay but never heard of a maraschino cherry in a margarita! Service was attentive for the party of 10. The poblano rice was good but lukewarm. The restaurant did not have many people in it. It seems like the ballrooms were packed with weddings and Quincenerias.
It was not authentic Mexican and the food was average at best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and mimosas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I came here for Sunday brunch for a Christmas gathering. The food was exceptional. So much variety and it actually tasted authentic. We ate and drank like there was no tomorrow. Our waiters came often to check up on us and made sure our glasses were always full of mimosas. The mariachi was the cherry on top. We really did have a wonderful time and would totally recommend for a bday gathering or a special celebration!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

So ive grown up in this area all my life, and ive passed by this place nearly every day without stopping by to see whats up. I finally did last week, and this is my review.

Food: 4-5 stars. Yes, its spimple spanish/mexican food, and yes its got the usual fare, but its very very fresh. Not salty at all. I had the red snapper, and i LOVED IT. Drinks? HIT THE SPOT. The usual long-island. cant go wrong with that.

Location: 5 stars! Beautiful Ambiance, and gorgeous feel of the place. many weddings have been held here and special events. Awesome place to set the mood.

Price: Not bad! fair and good in my opinion.

ALL IN ALL : Got to give this place a try. cheers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been to Luminarias several times. It is more like 3.5 stars. The food is good and the price is right too. This is a Mexican restaurant but the brunch carries a variety including an omelette bar, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pasta bar, seafood bar, sliced roast, and, of course, Mexican food. The homemade tortillas are the bomb.

The service was great. We had Ramon, who was okay, and JEFFREY, who was WONDERFUL, Jeffrey went out of his way to ask if we were there on a special occasion and brought out a piece of dessert with a candle when we told him yes. Jeffrey was great with all of his customers and was very attentive.

This could be a 4 star but the decor is dated and a bit dingy. If they paint, reupholster and make a few updates in the inside, it would be a four.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminarias also viewed

 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 

Been to Luminarias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luminarias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.