We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic restaurant in a very commercial town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Persian Grill

Persian Grill
675 Lighthouse Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-1007
831-372-3720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 259 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great authentic restaurant in a very commercial town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner on a wet Weeknight I sought out a place within walking distance from the intercontinental where we were staying but with all the touristy places near by was very pleased to find this place on tripadvisor great food fresh and well prepared our server who is the owner was very helpful in describing items we were unfamiliar with and very accommodating we had the dolmas two salads and the grilles chicken with saffron rice and barberries which was deliciously sweet and savory and was enough to share two pots off my tea and out bill was only $47 before tip I would highly recommend this charming place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experieance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had great service from the moment we walked through the door. My Fiance had never eaten Persian food and for me only a very few times so the server helped us navigate the menu and she was spot on with the recommendations. We had great time learning about the persian culture too with a few questions asked to the chef. Plus if you're Gluten Free this is a excellent cuisine to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Very happy we chose that restaurant! The service was very attentive and took the time to explain the meals and spices.
The food was just delicious. Healthy and nearly fat-free. Would definitely eat there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Persian Surprise - but in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in town for some racing and were looking for a good dinner on a Saturday night. After bouncing around some Italian ideas in Carmel, we were driving down Lighthouse and saw the Persian Grill. "Hey, we read something good about this place." It took us longer to find a parking place than to get a table for five at 6:30 on a Saturday. (It was the last table available.) We ordered all three Khoresht (stews) -- walnut, eggplant and beef. Each had its individual taste and texture and all were delicious. Walnut was the nearly consensus favorite -- one holdout for the eggplant. We also had a dish with grilled chicken and basmati rice with barberry, which was also delicious. Hamid, the proprietor, took care of us and showed us a 17 spice mix made from his mother's recipe. Very friendly and efficient service. Highly recommend! Beautiful etched art on three large mirrors in the place gave the small storefront space a larger and elegant feel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Persian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Food was great, we were waited on by a gentleman that seemed like the owner. He was great. Even though we are very familiar with Middle Eastern food he advised us on a couple of items that we were not familiar with and he was right on the mark. Will go back again the next time that we are in Monterey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persian Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Persian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Persian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.