We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views of the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Massaro & Santos On The Pier

Massaro & Santos On The Pier
32 Cannery Row Suite H1, Monterey, CA 93940
831-649-6700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the second story at the end of the Coast Guard Pier in Monterey. Off the beaten path between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. 270 degree ocean views.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good food, great views of the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here last Saturday and really enjoyed it. I had the crab cake appetizer and a cup of shrimp bisque and my husband had the oysters and a bowl of clam chowder. Everything was good and tasted very fresh, especially the oysters. The restaurant is on the second floor over a deli/market and the views of the bay are fantastic. A lot of great photo ops and its nice having lunch while listening to the seals. Very good service, friendly and efficient. The pier is between Cannery Row and Fishermans Wharf so it is within walking distance of many of the hotels. I would recommend this restaurant for good, fresh, local seafood. Reservations are recommended for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crozier, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ate here on a Monday early evening. The restaurant had only a few patrons. I ordered a Caesar salad for my dinner. It was okay - could have been a bit colder. My husband had a seafood pasta which he liked. We would try another place next time if we were to eat in Monterey again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Try this Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Located at the Coast Guard Pier , this was our favorite restaurant during our recent visit to Monterey! The restaurant is perched above a Deli, with a wrap-a-round open air eating area with a great view of the bay. You can see seals and other marine life as well as boats docking at this working pier. There is also an elegant inside restaurant and bar area. We ate there twice - once for an afternoon snack on the veranda - calamari and artichoke appetizers along with a glass of local wine. Our second visit was for a great dinner that included a Sicilian Calamari appetizer in a red sauce with capers and calamata olives. We both had fish dishes (very fresh) and even shared a desert. The wait staff was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A lovely spot for a leisurely Sunday lunch with the sea otters and their babies providing the entertainment along with the fabulous view of the wharfs and bay. The food was very good especially the clam linguine. Absolutely perfect service and a delightful staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was another find by driving around looking for something off the beated path. It's overlooking the Coast Guard pier, with sea lions and boats for enjoyment. White tablecloths, very good service, and the food was excellent. I had Choke Miguel, a marvelous mix of artichoke hearts, prawns, scallops, crab and squid in a divine sauce...others had deep fried whole bass, cioppini and the kids had fish and chips. All were well prepared. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaro & Santos On The Pier also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Massaro & Santos On The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massaro & Santos On The Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.