We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ok food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loulou's Griddle In The Middle

Loulou's Griddle In The Middle
Municipal Wharf 2, Monterey, CA 93940
831-372-0568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Loulou's Griddle in the Middle is the tiny diner on Wharf #2. We always say we're "tiny but mighty." We cook with a lot of heart, soul, and deep care about every detail. We aim to make your experience comfortable, fun, delicious, and a little like being at a home-away-from-home. The kitchen is open so you can see our chefs preparing right in front of you. Our community of customers--both local and visitors from far away--also make Loulou's special. We bend over backwards to accomodate your requests, when we can, and we might crown you with a tiara if your requests are many....but all in fun. The diner opened in 1948, so it's rich with history. We're blessed with one customer, Henry, who has been coming EVERY morning since 1948 and he's earned a customized stool, a plaque, his own coffee mug, and a warm place in our hearts.
Bell, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location ok food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great location. Weekday visit was not crowded. Award winning clam chowder was good but not a winner for me. Salad was very good. Crab cakes were just ok. The service was good with a friendly waitress. As a tourist I thought it was a great thing to do but I probably wouldn't visit a second time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    135
    44
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Funky good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Located on the "working wharf" as opposed to the tourist wharf, this little place has funky charm and very good breakfast and lunch. Next door is the Monterey Yacht Club and on Wednesday nights you can watch the races start at 6:00 PM. Service is rated a 3 because you can expect to wait at very busy times like Sunday mornings, but you can stroll around the wharf and see the real fishermen bringing their catch. Breakfast and brunch are great choices, but dinner and some lunch choices are more iffy. Ask the server for recommendations. Very informal, but dress in layers if you are going to eat outside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love LouLou's Squiddle in The Middle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

And we love their crab cakes, oversized griddle cakes, eggs benedict, omelets, and specials of the day! If you've not tried it yet, my personal favorite is the squiddle and eggs!
No matter what the weather, the cheerful efficient service and down-home humor is bound to help you begin a wonderful day.
Because this is a locals' favorite hot spot, you've got to get there early to find a seat, but even if you must wait a bit, it's worth it! As I had to wait for 15 minutes on a rather foggy day, I was offered a warm lap blanket, a hot cup of coffee and a big smile from our hostess to ward off the chill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining at Loulou's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Loulou's is the funkiest place on wharf 2. They do breakfast and lunch everyday and dinner three night a week. It is a good balance between quantity and quality. Breakfasts and lunches are huge but exceptionally good. Dinners are very inexpensive and very filling and very innovative. If you get their early enough you might see the evening special being loaded off the boat and being carried into the kitchen. The chef knows how to cook seafood. Can't go wrong at Loulou's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paciific grove
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have gone there before for some OK breakfasts, but decided to try lunch there with two friends. A mistake...
When the tuna melt arrived, it was clear that the oil they used to grill it was rancid. It was impossible to eat - we had to separate the tuna from the bread in order to get a few small bites.
My calamari was tender enough, but almost all of the breading had fallen off.
All four of us had a side salad that came drenched with an acidy dressing; none of us touched it.
It would have been good to share all of this with our waitress, but she did not appear again except to breeze by and drop the check on the table. Never the usual "how was it, etc."
After waiting ten minutes or so, I finally took the check into the restaurant, found our missing waitress and paid the bill.
Never again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loulou's Griddle In The Middle also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Loulou's Griddle In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loulou's Griddle In The Middle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.