We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loulou's Griddle In The Middle

Loulou's Griddle In The Middle
Municipal Wharf 2, Monterey, CA 93940
831-372-0568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 224 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chowder, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Loulou's Griddle in the Middle is the tiny diner on Wharf #2. We always say we're "tiny but mighty." We cook with a lot of heart, soul, and deep care about every detail. We aim to make your experience comfortable, fun, delicious, and a little like being at a home-away-from-home. The kitchen is open so you can see our chefs preparing right in front of you. Our community of customers--both local and visitors from far away--also make Loulou's special. We bend over backwards to accomodate your requests, when we can, and we might crown you with a tiara if your requests are many....but all in fun. The diner opened in 1948, so it's rich with history. We're blessed with one customer, Henry, who has been coming EVERY morning since 1948 and he's earned a customized stool, a plaque, his own coffee mug, and a warm place in our hearts.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loulou's is this tiny little shack out on the boardwalk but it is amazing. Somehow we missed the lunch rush and showed up around 2pm. Which apparently getting seats right away is an anomaly.
We got seats at the bar which had a great view of the chefs creating these amazing dishes. My sister and I both got the 2 specials and shared them. Can you say fresh crab and fresh halibut? Because Loulou's sure can. The meals were huge and delicious. And not that expensive. And the waitresses were beyond friendly. If I go back to Monterey, I will definitely try to stop in here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    166
    47
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I don't know why the high rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was surprised to see this place highly rated. The place is really small, long wait to be seated, and 25 minutes to be served. The burger was blah, but the crab was excellent. The waitresses were good and the overall service was friendly. The location is great, but parking was a hassle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We know why it is ranked #1 !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to Loulou's for Sat brunch and everything we ordered was great. I had oatmeal which is one of the best I've ever had. My hubby had seafood omelette which was very delicious, with lots of shrimps and mushrooms. My 7 year old ordered a chocolate chip pancake - my only caution is that the pancake is very large, probably fit for 3 kids rather than 1. Service was a little slow but we enjoyed the sun, the view and the music so we didn't really mind. Very good place and an enjoyable meal for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - What a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited this as it was #1 on Trip Advisor and it met all of our expectations. The place is small, but the breakfast was amazing fresh ingredients on omelets, grreat cofee and potatoes. We almos went back for lunch....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lambert
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were so excited to try Loulou's after all the great reviews. We placed our order and as the menu clearly stated -if you are in a hurry don't sit here, we were not concerned initially with the rather long wait. After half an hour and several people being served who arrived after us we asked about our order, no response, when we finally went in to see what was happening the first response we got from the waitress was "it is not my fault if the kitchen made a mistake" we asked once again if our order had been placed, to which she replied, "maybe the wind blew your order away" seriously !!! I think this little rustic gem just can't handle the customers anymore and neither do they seem to care - pity!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loulou's Griddle In The Middle also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Loulou's Griddle In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loulou's Griddle In The Middle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.