We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sushi Deli

Ocean Sushi Deli
165 Webster St, Monterey, CA 93940-3119
831-645-9876
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 225 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The cost is reasonable and I like the atmosphere but it didn't taste fresh, so I won't be back. Akaone in Carmel is much better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had all our meals here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It is true! We found this place by coincidence 2 years ago, stayed in Monterey for 3 days, had all our meals here, came back twice this December to Monterey and again, had every meal here for 4 days all together. Their curry is fantastic, along with the other dish we tasted. Very nice staff and good prices. Why would you go anywhere else???

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My fiancee and I walked past this place while heading toward the Canary Row and decided to stop in for dinner on our way back.

Lots of choices! So many combinations and it seemed really busy. We have a 10 piece sushi combination and some teriyaki chicken (I needed some non-fish). Everything was very good. When we come back to Monterey, we will definitely come here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eat with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a great, quick, yummy and really reasonable udon/sushi meal.
You can eat there or take it to go. Really lovely people staffing the place

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great value and friendly staff. The owner Chris is a very kind, generous and loving person. The staff usually is also extremely nice. The food is good and some of it is just great like the tempura roll, which has a lot more than tempura in it. Try it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sushi Deli also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Ocean Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sushi Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.