We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy fresh sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sushi Deli

Ocean Sushi Deli
165 Webster St, Monterey, CA 93940-3119
831-645-9876
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 257 restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“yummy fresh sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

this place has the best fresh sushi!! so good!!! everything is very good and they have really cute Asian snacks and drinks for sale too that u can't really find anywhere else! it's really cute almost like a sushi deli of sorts. also they have a cute green tea and water stand where you can serve yourself for free. I like this place a lot. they offer a stamp card too which is nice because it is a bit pricy

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    18
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Cheap and bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Normally miso soup is included in the sushi bento, when I placed an order 30 of them for pick up, the owner said that he's going to charge me $1 extra. I asked him you are charging me extra when it is already included in the meal. His repose was that it only given to the customers who purchase out the showcase for no extra charge. I've been to both locations for lunch, this was never an issue when I ordered one bento, as well as my other friends. It doesn't make sense to charge 30 orders at once but not to 30 individual orders. The manager was very rude while I was asking for the reason behind these charges. I told him that he was about to lose a regular customer, he still insisted on charging for miso soup. Just over a miso soup. No thank you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent customer service and very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We went when the restaurant was open in the morning around 11 am. Their menu is fantastic! They have so much to choose from and the food quality is so good! They have the best tofu ever! The sushis are superb and delightful! The lady that served us was super nice! Excellent customer service and food! It is so worth! Definitely try it out!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Japanese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The sushi is really good but they have a lot more on their menu. My suggestion go for the Japanese food such as soba. It's very authentic and it is absolutely fantastic. And as far as the service everybody seems to be happy and will greet you with a smile from the owner to the to the waiters. And if you haven't tried a different food items that they offer on their menu ask them questions there more than willing to answer and give you good advice in what to try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Whenever I want sushi or teriyaki, I go to Ocean sushi Monterey. In fact my special Birthday meal is a chicken teriyaki bento box and a order of california rolls. Their food is always fresh and they seem like one of the cleaner sushi places. Friendly staff too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sushi Deli also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Ocean Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sushi Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.