We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wait staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Beach

Cafe Beach
2600 Sand Dunes Dr, Best Western Plus Monterey Beach Resort, Monterey, CA 93940-3838
831-899-4544
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 258 restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canyon Del Ray
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice wait staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The breakfast was okay but the staff was very nice and helpful. The omelet as a bit to greasy and salty but pancakes were amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Cafe Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear comdini,
Thank you so much for taking the time to commend the wait staff at Café Beach - I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hospitality.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    35
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful view, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended this place, claiming 1) the view at sunset is worth the trip, and 2) the service is great. We were not disappointed on either count. 1) the view was one of the best on the peninsula. 2) our waiter, Joaquin B, treated us very well and made solid recommendations. And, on that note, 3) the food was very good.
If only someone or something had complemented our beauty, I'd have a fourth thing in my list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Cafe Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear peartree52,

Thank you for your high marks given Café Beach for food, service, and view.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, service and views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service by Joaquin Benitez, view of an occasional sea otter, and delicious fresh ingredients. I recommend the calamari!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Cafe Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Traiste,

Thank you for your positive review - I am happy to hear you enjoyed the experience.

See you soon,

Regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inyokern,CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beyond outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Not real sure how a review of this restaurant could be anything less than 4 star. We give it a very strong 5. When you are eating on the waterfront it's nice to have a commanding view of the water. Heck, that's part of the reason for going. At the Cafe Beach, EVERY SEAT has a breath taking view of the Monterey Bay. That's right, every seat. It's a 3-tier seating arangement that gives every seat a great view.

To say the service was very good is an understatement. It was just outstanding. The head waiter, Joaquin, directed a staff of waiters to make darn sure every customer thought they had their own personal waiter. It was outstanding.

Now, about the food. Among the best Monterey has to offer. Our food was served quickly, nice and hot and cooked to perfection. Who could ask for more? But wait. The money! We found the price to be right in-line with other fine restaurents in the Monterey area. No parking problems, and it' free as well. Get off Canery Row and give them a try. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Cafe Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear George,
Thank you so much for your high praise - we look forward to your return to Café Beach.

Regards,
Patrick Sheridan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Cafe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very expensive and the quality of food poor. We ate the rest of the time off the hotel premises. The cleanliness lacked at the tables and the service was poor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Cafe Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Elsie,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here at Café Beach - I would like to invite you back as our guest.

Please contact me at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Patrick Sheridan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beach also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Cafe Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.