We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar & Grill

Sandbar & Grill
Municipal Wharf, Suite 16, Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 373-2818
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 258 restaurants in Monterey
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my favorite place. Another place featured in the Clint Eastwood movie, "Play Misty For Me." Small place on the smaller, less busy pier, looks just like it did in the movie. Very busy. Went there for lunch, sat at the bar and had great food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    69
    80
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
No California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yep, this is a place the locals frequent. They offer specials at the bar on days the SF Giants are playing. But, since we were not locals it was worth it to spend a few dollars more and get a window seat.

We made a reservation (on a Saturday night) about an hour before. When we arrived we indicated we would be willing to wait at the bar until a window table opened up. Which one did very shortly. Service was very good to both us (as a first time visitor) and to those that appear to be locals. We were all treated very well.

We shared the calamari which was excellent! I had a small bowl of the clam chowder and the appetizer portion of the sand dabs. Just the right amount. My husband had one of the specials (can't remember which - sorry). The prices were very reasonable considering the location. Loved the view of the pier that came with dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Try the Sand Dabs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A great scenic spot on the municipal wharf. We were glad we chose to have lunch here. The service was friendly and efficient. We split a plate of Sand Dabs with rice and coleslaw and it was more than enough for the two of us. A bread basket was also included. Parking was not a problem. We also had a cup of the Clam Chowder and it was delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You wouldn't have to twist my arm to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend had been here before but I was a newby. We came during lunch and got a nice seat in the corner right by the window to watch the activities outside. The manager was very delightful and checked on us twice. Boyfriend chose the meal since he'd been there and fell in love with one of their dishes, the scallops with mushroom cream sauce. We got the dabs for an appetizer and even though it wasn't on the lunch menu made us the scallop dinner anyways and boy it was phenomenal! There weren't too many words that could be said during the meal other than Mmm. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver , CO
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Be careful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great scenic spot. You can watch the sail boats going by the window. Great bar scene. Food taste was good. However, 4 hours later I came down with food poisoning. Cramps and craps for 24 hours. I hadn't eaten anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar & Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Sandbar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.