We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Decent Prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Cookhouse

Monterey Cookhouse
2149 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
831-642-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 261 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Food, Decent Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We ate here for dinner twice. The first time there was a problem with the brick oven and our pizza was less than desirable but the manager took it off our bill. The house salads were so good, however, which is the reason we went back a second time. The place smells wonderful when you walk in and the hostess treats you like old friends. They have a nice beer selection and, in my book, any restaurant that serves Brother Thelonious earns a few stars just for that! The atmosphere is warm and comfortable and fairly quiet for the open space. I particularly liked that when patrons arrived they were seated sparsely around the restaurant and not all right together in one section like a lot of restaurants do. Our waitress for both visits were friendly, helpful and attentive without being annoying. The restaurant is centrally located and not close to the Cannery Row or Wharf but well worth the extra time and distance to go there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stateline, Nevada
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Pulled PORK-UMMMMMMMM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good service.

Ate here with the family.

Tried the brisket appetizer. Good flavors and well mixed together-flavor, heat and temperature.

I had a house salad. Very large and you could almost go with just ordering a salad if you were not that hungry.

I had the pulled pork pizza. Great flavors. Too bad they just don't have a plain pulled pork dish because the pork on the pizza was excellent.

Decent selection of wine. We had the house Pinot and it was ok.

They do have a happy hour from 4-6pm. And if you're on Yelp a 20% discount for breakfast or lunch.

The owner came by twice to make sure everything was ok.

My granddaughter had mac and cheese. It was good. Needed to be more cheesy-per her comment.

We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The menu selection was great and all the staff were very friendly. We notice all the advertisements on our way to and from our drive into Oregon and decided to give it a try. My wife was very pleased with our experience at the Black Bear Diner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma,California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stopped here as it was close to our motel the night before we left. I had a salad and chicken skewers with rice and my wife had one of their salads and soup. The ingredients were fresh, tasted good and we did not feel rushed at all. The service was very pleasant and efficient with the one exception of the bread not arriving until after my entree was served. Another reason I liked this place was that the owner worked the floor, consequently things got done or fixed quickly. Dinner for two, no alcoholic drinks and no desserts for 45.00. Nice service, nice interior and a pleasant surprise. Definitely giving it a shot on my next trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I didn't expect too much, but the meal was tasty. The waiter was stretched too thin (too many tables), but did okay under the circumstances. Dessert was excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Cookhouse also viewed

Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monterey Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.