We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Munras Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent only one night in this hotel but we really enjoyed it! We were 4 and had 2 communicating rooms. Both were very pleasant with enough room and comfortable beds. The TV has kind of bad definition and the shower could be replaced, but despite that I had nothing to complain about. Great breakfast menu also

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were all delighted that you found great value during your stay, as that is one of our top priorities. We are excited to share that in October we will begin guest room renovations which we hope will address your television and shower concerns. In the scope of the renovation we will be installing all new insulation, double pane windows, flooring, ceiling fans and plumbing. Additionally, new furniture will be installed along with flat screen televisions. We look forward to your next visit and hope to earn your 5 star review!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    342
    167
    72
    37
See reviews for
205
429
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and the room was nicely furnished and well equipped but not very big. We only had booked a standard room so no complaints, we expected small but perfectly formed which it was. Room facilities and high standards more befitting of a more expensive hotel. Grounds kept immaculate as is the terrace, reception, bar and restaurant. Staff were first class, friendly but VERY professional yet in genuine way - they want you to have a great time! Staff were efficient in making reservations for various attractions and restaurants. We ate dinner one evening in Estaban's, the hotels own dining room. Food was nice but not outstanding in that the food was a bit overpriced but not badly so. A good time was had with very good cocktails (and these were the real deal) and wine and with superb staff. Very laid back affair and a good end to our day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We were all thrilled to read your fantastic review! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. They always try to make our guests stay a memorable one and we are happy to hear they left the impression they did. Regarding your dining experience, we are disappointed that we fell short, however, we were pleased that you found your drinks and our wine selection to be excellent, along with our restaurant staff. We will be sure to share your comments with our Chef, as he continually strives to offer the most delectable and freshest Spanish dishes. Thank you very much for taking the time to share and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is our third time staying at this lovely inn. It was originally an old hacienda and still maintains that charm even though it is a fairly large hotel. The pool is wonderful, surrounded by roses, has tasteful luxurious decor. Many good restaurants and the historic wharf are within walking distance, although Cannery Row is a bit of a walk for dinner. The grounds and rooms are always well kept. Cannot wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: Must get a second floor room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary in Monterey and had a wonderful time. Casa Munras was perfect for our stay. The front desk was friendly and informative and our dog felt right at home also. The restaurant in the hotel was fabulous with a pet friendly patio for dining. In old town and close to everything without being in the middle of all of the high traffic areas. Loved it !!! Well return again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was booked by our son and at first we were worried that it would not be what we liked. We were very pleasantly surprised. This was a very, very nice place to stay. Our king size room overlooking the kidney shaped, well maintained pool and beautiful rose garden was cozy and also very clean. Linen and mattress as well as bathroom were all clean and well appointed. Although there was no air conditioning and it was an unseasonable hot spell the room was cooled sufficiently during the day and at night by tall oscillating electronic fan. Casement window opened wide also. No elevator but a bellman was almost instantly available to carry up our bags to the second floor. Restaurant was excellent, as was the large outside lounge area that had a fire pit and propane heaters. Trader Joe's nearby. Rather easy walk to downtown and the water front. Our son and wife walked all the way to Pacific Grove!. All in all a very nice stay. Near the Presidio Armed Services Base and also the International Studies Grad. School of Middlebury College.

Green Features: Recycled in keeping with conventional practices by using separate receptacles for paper, plastic etc. Since it is not air conditioned it obviously saves on use of electricity.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are very appreciative of your kind words and want to thank you for the recent review. It is wonderful to hear that our helpful staff, beautiful property, and central location were able to change your initial doubts about our property. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another Monterey experience!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

LOVE, love, love the spa (Sano Spa), the hotel is super cute and dog friendly. Only downside is the restaurant. Limited menu items and it took FOREVER to get our food. Very typical "hotel" food, almost cafeteria like.
OK, back to the things we love about it. Great fireplace in room, extra comfy beds, quiet part of town but within walking distance of downtown and one of the best places to get a drink in Monterey (Restaurant 1833).

Green Features: Organic/local food & beverages Towel reuse program Linen reuse program Non-toxic pest control Education for guests on green practices Low chemical gardening
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Good price for a beautiful stay. The rooms are a bit dated and the cleanliness of the bathroom was questionable (there was hair and a bobby pin in the middle of the floor when we got there). However, it was very reasonably priced and quiet. I really appreciated the spa products in the bathroom and the fan they provided in the closet. Not the nicest stay but perfectly acceptable!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are thrilled to find out that you had a beautiful stay. Our property is one of the more authentic properties in downtown Monterey, once being owned by Spanish diplomat Don Esteban Munras. Our company the Inns of Monterey, recently purchased Casa Munras Hotel and Spa and will be beginning guest room renovations this October. We hope bring back the luster of the property, while preserving the integrity of such a historical building. We will be installing all new furniture, plumbing, electric, insulation, carpet, ceiling fans, and flat screen televisions to provide our guests with the modern day luxuries and amenities. In regards to the bathroom, we are very sorry and disappointed that you encountered this. Cleanliness is a top priority of ours and we will certainly review your comments with our housekeeping management to ensure that this does not occur in the future. We truly hope that you will consider staying with us in the future to experience the upcoming changes firsthand.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munras Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Esteban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Esteban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Munras Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.