We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Munras Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monterey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a beautiful area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay. The front desk staff went above and beyond to be helpful, providing useful information. The room was well appointed with two double beds, a sitting area, a small desk with a coffee maker, and an armoire. The grounds were beautiful and an easy walk to the trolley station, which gets you everywhere. My only complaint is that I left a hat on the armoire, and even calling just after we left, it was not recovered. It’s hard to say why that happened, but was disappointing. Aside from that, it was a great stay. This property is not near the piers and beaches, but is easily accessible to the city. Enjoyable and pleasant, no problem with parking and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. Our mission is to provide our guests with personalized and attentive service and we were thrilled to hear that our staff was so helpful in providing you with information. As you mentioned, our location is excellent and the perfect distance to the trolley station. Our guests really enjoy the accessibility to everything from our location in downtown Monterey. In regards to your hat, we do keep records of all lost and found items and are very sorry that your hat was never recovered. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future. We will be updating our guest rooms this October and hope that you will be able to experience all the changes upon your return.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    343
    168
    72
    37
See reviews for
205
431
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I went to Casa Munras on the spur of the moment for Memorial Day weekend. They were honest enough not to price gauge me like some other places in Monterey. We rented the luxury room at a fair price. We intended to stay only one night but we ended up staying for the weekend.The amenities included a clean gym, professional spa, pool, full bar and restaurant. Nicholas was very attentive and helpful and showed us on a map some of the best attractions an scenic routes in the area. We definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked this last minute through Orbitz as we came into town. Not ever being in Monterey before, this is a good location. It is close to many restaurants & variety of stores. It is only 2 miles from the aquarium & the cannery district. A person could walk or bike that as it is a flat walk for the most part to that area. The room we had was comfortable, but probably use some updating. It is very clean & cozy. The beds were comfortable & liked the bedding that is used. It has real comforters & not those thin rough bed covers you find in most hotels.
We did not use the Spa. I looked at the prices out of curiosity, but thought they were too high compared to what I pay at home.
We would come back here again.

Green Features: For an area that needs to conserve water, the need to upgraded some of their plumbing such as their toilets. They seem to use a lot of water & run a lot. We couldn't find any signs to let the cleaning staff know not to change the sheets if we didn't need them too.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are very appreciative of your feedback and want to thank you for your review. We were delighted to find out that this was your first trip to Monterey and hope it won’t be the last. As you noted, we do have a fantastic location in historic downtown Monterey, which we hope you had the chance to explore, along with Cannery Row. In regards to our green features, you are correct that it is even more important to conserve right now and in response we are working diligently to become Green Seal Certified. We are happy to share to our Company the Inns of Monterey does already have three properties that are Green Seal Certified and are hoping to make this property our fourth! Thank you again for your feedback as it provides us with the opportunity to continually improve. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We ended up at Casa Munras through a Priceline bid, and were happy with the results. The hotel is largely one-story and our two story room had no elevator. The lay-out is what we used to call a "motel" with room doors opening onto an outdoor walkway and parking next to your room. The property was larger and spread-out more than I expected, and the grounds were colorful (lots of flowers) and inviting. The staff at the front desk was polite and helpful. The room was spacious and clean; ours had a refrigerator, but no microwave. The location is good (Denny's is right across the street); we even walked to the wharf, but it is close to a mile. We stayed there three nights and enjoyed our time away.

Green Features: Housekeeping actually honored our request to not change the bedding, and towels that we left on the tool bars (which we have found is often suggested by hotels, but ignored by housekeeping).
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our property. As mentioned, our property is spread out over 4 acres of land with beautiful flowers throughout for our guests to enjoy. Our staff is what sets our property apart and we are very pleased to hear that they were able to make such a positive impression. Our housekeeping staff are very conscious of our guest requests, as three of our four properties are Green Seal Certified. We are currently working on getting our certification for Casa Munras Hotel and Spa, which we recently purchased. Should your journeys bring you back to Monterey we hope that we will continue to be your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel. We requested for a hypoallergenic room, and they made sure the room was well cleaned. We didn't have major allergy episode. It was a 5 mins walk to food places at Alvarado street, 3 mins to Trader Joes and there is a free city trolley service 3 mins at the Transit center taking you to cannery row and fisherman wharf.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the waterfront and its value. For $268 including all taxes and fees, we stayed in a deluxe king room with fireplace. But we were also delighted to discover we had been booked in a corner room with a private balcony!

I had requested a room on the second floor at the rear of the complex after reading reviews here, and glad I did. It appears that noise might be a problem for rooms near the pool or the street. But we were blissfully happy with our accommodations. True, the room appointments don't look brand spankin' new, but everything was clean and very comfortable. (Although they could use some better pillows). We were also given a late checkout so we didn't have to kill time in town for hours before our 5:30 flight out of San Francisco. Instead, we slept in and then bought breakfast at the little bakery across the street (good food, slow service) and ate it on our balcony while looking over pictures from our trip.

Monterey itself is just OK (although we didn't spend any time in the downtown historic district so can't comment on that). The wharf area was nothing special... pretty much your standard tourist trap. And while the aquarium is great (at $40 per adult!), we've been to others just as nice or better (Baltimore, Camden NJ). Probably better if you have small children since there are kid-friendly educational exhibits throughout. The view to the harbor from the aquarium was a highlight... you can see otters and seals basking on the rocks and in the kelp in the distance.

Spent our second day driving south — stopping first at Point Lobos State Reserve on the advice of a waitress at the hotel restaurant, Esteban (nice patio, decent tapas, but chilly when the sun's not out!). The vistas from Point Lobos are spectacular; don't miss it ($10 entry fee per vehicle)! We then headed south along Hwy 1 to Big Sur. What an amazing drive! The views are breathtaking along the way. We stopped at the Big Sur Riverside Inn for lunch. Their large patio overlooks a beautiful little river, where after your meal you can sun in Adirondack chairs plunked right in the water! The food, ambience and service were all were all top-notch. There are also a couple of small gift shops on the property that have some very nice local art, jewelry and other goods. Unfortunately, we ran out of time so weren't able to hike in the area as planned, but hope to return one day. The Riverside Inn looks like a great spot to stay (albeit not inexpensive). On the way back we took the western portion of the 17-mile drive along the Carmel Coast, which takes you past the infamous Pebble Beach Golf Resort. It cost $10 for the privilege of oggling the pricey homes and ocean views along the way. If you aren't able to get to Point Lobos or Big Sur, this is a decent alternative, and there are some lovely picnicking spots along the route. The Carmel River State Beach, at the south end of the drive is a beautiful spot as well.

On our last night we had dinner at Dametra Cafe, the top rated restaurant in Carmel — and deservedly so. The Mediterranean food was delicious (best Greek salad I've ever had) and the service was excellent. They also have an ethnic music duo performing at interludes during the evening.

All in all a great trip. Definitely recommend Casa Munros as an alternative to pricier Carmel hotels. We chose Monterey because we attended a wedding in Los Altos earlier in the week and wasn't a long drive. But if we had it to do over we would have stayed in or closer to Big Sur, which is intoxicatingly beautiful.

Room Tip: Request room 270 for a quieter room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a recycling bucket in the room and guests are given the option to have sheets and towels changed daily.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I'm writing the review as I'm im the hotel. The hotel is clean and well maintained. But the room is very noisy. The walls are paperthin, the parking lots are right in front of every room, so you hear people arriving and departing all the time. It has a sense of nature since if your neighbour room guests are taking a shower you feel like lying next to a waterfall. I think i might get more sleep putting my bed right on Munras Ave. I will depart tomorrow although I booked two nights.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are very appreciative of your comments and regret that we could not have made your stay more enjoyable. We realize that a room move would have been inconvenient and are disappointed that that you checked out early. We are very sorry that noise issues hindered your stay with us. The way our property is laid out guests do enjoy parking closer to their rooms, but we realize that this may have been an issue of concern for you, as their seemed to be noise transmissions by incoming and outgoing guests. We do have a planned room renovation schedule which will begin this October. The scope of the renovations will include all new insulation and double pane windows to minimize noise transmissions. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, as we believe it is the best tool for continually improving.

Sincerely,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munras Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Esteban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Esteban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Munras Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.