We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Munras Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Special
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value for Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at Casa Munras one evening on a drive from southern California to northern California. Monterey is a charming little town, and Casa Munras served its purpose for my needs. The check in staff was very friendly, providing a map of the area and recommendations of things to do / places to eat. Upgraded to a king room at no charge, which was very kind. The property almost reminds of an apartment complex, with several one story buildings, some with little porches out front. You could even park right outside your door, or steps away. Everything in the room was clean, and bathroom had both a stall shower and soaking tub. Plantation shutters on the windows. Only downfall was there was no air conditioning. Typically wouldn't be a problem in September I wouldn't think, but it was a tad warmer than normal. Plus, being a Florida gal, we are used to air conditioning everywhere. However, my room did have a ceiling fan and that did a good enough job for the one night. It is a short walk down the street to a Peet's for some coffee and breakfast, and maybe five minutes by foot to downtown Monterey and the Wharf.
The only downfall here is the internet service is terrible. I would get connected with a very weak signal, and then immediately it would disconnect. 15 minutes on with tech support did not help. Otherwise, it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    317
    155
    68
    37
See reviews for
200
406
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I would recommend this hotel 100%....on check in we were given the friendliest greeting and so much information on where to go in Monterey and the surrounding area we were overwhelmed! I cant say we noticed the rooms being sub standard?? We all had a great nights sleep and were very comfortable....the pool area was well maintained with lots of towels and seating and a welcoming pool after long days out and about....if you do the ghost walk the hotel even features in that (but nothing went bump in the night!!!!)
A great stay thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The worst hotel we stayed at in one of the prettiest towns!!!! The rooms were dirty, smelly, old, poor decor, cold swimming pool and the staff were a bit clueless. Beds were really hard with latex padding which didn't help. After all the research we did this was a let down and far too expensive for the quality. No air con, old CRT TVs, WiFi was a pain as you had to re-boot all the time, and the restaurant had no vegetarian food on offer. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone except my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having never been to the Monterey/Carmel area, it is always difficult to truly know what you're getting into when you book a local hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by Casa Munras. The place reminded me of more of an exclusive "complex" with a regal entrance from the road, and several well-kept buildings making up the "campus". After experiencing the craziness of LA, the grounds were quiet and peaceful. The hotel is older, but in good repair and you can tell it is kept up well. We were in just a basic room with 2 double beds. It was a bit small for our liking, but filled the need for the one night we were there. The hotel is located in an area that made it easy to get to everywhere, however, you do have to drive to get to most places like Cannery Row and the 17 mile drive. We had our own car, so getting around wasn't an issue for us. There was nothing earth shattering either negative or positive about Casa Munras, but for those who haven't been to the area before, you should feel comfortable staying here. Quiet, clean and a nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Twice we've stayed at Casa Munras in Monterey, CA.
It's a great value for the quality of the rooms and property.
Excellent beds with comfy bedding and mattresses.
The rooms are fine, with nice bathrooms and separate make-up areas.
Request a second floor corner room to get double windows and breezes from the ocean.
There is no AC, but the ocean breezes are nice... when the wind blows.
In the summer this could be an issue.
It's only two blocks from the bus and shuttle station.
The location is good, and it;s quiet.
Other than the lack of AC... it's a great value.

Room Tip: Request a second floor corner room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They advise guests how to be responsible with towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thousand oaks, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked this room based on reviews and room pictures. What we got for $210.00 was an extremely musty smelling, funky, tiny old room. The carpeting looked about 40 yrs. old, room
was about 12x12, with a narrow bathroom. We had to leave the door open to air it out, seemed
like it hadn't been opened for a while. It seems they have a newer area somewhere, but we must
have been given the bottom of the barrel in rooms. No free breakfast, although Denny's is right
across the street. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask how old the room is. The bungalow buildings in the parking lot are the old ones, not the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Casa Munras is conveniently located in downtown Monterey which once was the capitol of early California. It's central location is a great "base" to use as you explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf or historic Cannery Row. It's family friendly and easy to find.
The restaurant, Esteban's features tapas and is cozy; the chef does a wonderful job and the staff are friendly and eager to please.
Casa Munras is a MUST if you're traveling to the Monterey Peninsula; it's adjacent to Pebble Beach, Pacific Grove, Carmel, Seaside and Marina with numerous activities for the entire family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munras Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman’s Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region’s most visited attractions – coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel’s on-property restaurant, Estéban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Casa Munras Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.