We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for motogp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Munras Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scunthorpe, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for motogp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good size rooms and a nice restaurant bar area. Food good in the restaurant, Denny s across the road as well. Good pool and area and overall good feel to the hotel. Great location for Monterey and best of all less than twenty minutes away from Laguna seca. We did set off at 7am though one of first one's there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    342
    167
    72
    37
See reviews for
205
429
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for our anniversary. It was his first trip to the city of monterey and this hotel made him immediately fall in love with the city. It was nice and close to the aquarium, cannery row, and fisherman's wharf. They staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, great toiletries I'm assuming from their spa, fireplace, and a wonderful balcony outside of our room with chairs, table, a view of the pool. Though $230 is pricey, it was the average price of hotels in that area but definitely an above average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Casa Munras is a good hotel in a good location. You can walk to the wharf and many restaurants downtown. This is the second time we have stayed here mainly due to it's location. Check in was fast and easy. We were to our room in minutes. The heated pool was very nice. The rooms need some upgrades to the walls and ceiling. Furnishings have been upgraded, but our ceiling had ripples. It's an older hotel. Many families stay there because of the value and location, so be prepared for children. We will stay there again when we return to Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice but too small in my opinion. We liked the decor in the bathroom too. Service is pretty good- location is great! There is a Denny's right across the street (perfect bkfst spot for our kids). Shopping is very close by. You can take some very enjoyable walks here. One of the best parts was kids movies on the lawn at night - it was cold but there was hot chocolate and snacks - we had so much fun! My daughter forgot a book in the room and the hotel mailed it to us free of charge!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in a king sized room for two nights at his unique boutique hotel with nice rooms which need a fresh lick of paint. However, I would of given the hotel a better rating if the rooms had air con which significantly impacted sleep quality through the rooms being being warm and stuffy. The water within the shower/ bath seemed to have a gas smell which we presumed was due to possibly gas powered water supply.

The hotel has a pool and fitness centre which are in very good condition. The main building is stunning with a very good tapas restaurant. The hotel provides a bike rental service which is great for exploring Monterey and 17 mile drive which includes Carmel, Pebble Beach GC and other world famous courses. In addition the hotel provides complementary DVD rentals and free wifi which is slow at times.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly, tentative and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We gambled a did a short notice booking on Hotwire which can be a disaster with 3 guests needing accommodation. Upon check in we were upgraded to a room with 2 beds instead of the one Hotwire arranged for us. Nick at the front desk was very friendly and had many good ideas to make our experience in Monterey wonderful and we appreciated the time he took with each guest. We loved the hotel and location so much that we booked one additional night and were able to move in very early in the morning to our new quieter room (noisy guests). The beds are comfortable and the property has a lovely pool and fantastic restaurant called Esteban. We had supper the night we arrived after the aquarium visit. We had trouble finding anything appealing down by the warf. The food at Esteban was delicious and the service was outstanding. The second evening after a full day of touring around we had happy hour in the restaurant - half price for many appetizers and wine. We ate our way through the menu! Of note were the prawns a la plancha for supper, medjool dates, tomatoe and watermelon appetizers.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor without an adjoining room to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Chose this hotel because of good reviews. We stayed for 4 nights and were not disappointed. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a fireplace, unfortunately the balcony looked over a car park but we could see the sea in the distance. The bed was super comfortable, the best bed we had on our trip, and the room was clean. The service when we booked in was friendly and helpful. We did have breakfast on the morning we left but service was not great and the breakfast was the worst we had on our trip! Everything seemed as though it had been standing for ages rather than being freshly cooked. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munras Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Esteban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Esteban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Munras Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.