We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Munras Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are charming and comfortable. The bathroom in our suite was not immaculate and when we brought it to the attention of the front desk they immediately gave us a small credit towards our stay. They also allowed us to have 2 rooms with the cpsecond at half price. The pool area is lovely and the on site restaurant excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am very happy to hear that you had a "Great Stay" at the Casa Munras. Thank you for mentioning our Family Promotion, it's actually one of our best kept secrets. When you reserve one room at the regular full price, you can get a second room of equal value at half price. It's perfect for families traveling for the holidays.

Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    342
    167
    72
    37
See reviews for
205
429
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I were wanting to get a weekend away and we chose Monterey. Casa Munras was centrally located. Couldn't see ocean but we could walk downtown and to Cannery Row if you wanted to get in a nice long walk. Rooms were not quite like they looked in picture, small but they were clean. We had a nice fire place. Spa was great although the waterfall hot tub they talk about is nothing like they make it sound.

Room Tip: If you use Spa make sure you have them go over all the charges. We received a few surprises when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you had a positive experience at the Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. I noticed you mentioned something about the charges on your spa bill, if this has not been resolved or explained to your satisfaction please be sure to let us know. Our spa director is Lauren Itson and her email is litson@larkspurhotels.com.

Sincerely,
Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this location 30 years ago. Our room had been updated, it had a flat screen TV, fire place, and the most COMFORTABLE bed we have ever slept on. The bathroom was average size. The room was comfortable, clean, but not very large. But it did meet our needs. You are located near a busy street and you will hear the am and pm commute traffic (if the window is open) for a couple hours, but it does die down at night. If you book a unit in the rear of the complex, it will be even more quiet. We were a 10 minute drive from the aquarium. Dennys and other eating establishments are close by. We were able to check in early, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would stay at this location again

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the complex, and for a upstairs unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for returning to the casa munras after 30 years. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our signature Featherborne bedding. It's great to hear from guests who remember the hotel from years ago. In fact we had another couple recently who stayed with us for their honeymoon 50 years ago (when you could get a room for $20 a night), and just came back to celebrate their anniversary. Always makes me smile. Thanks again for staying and we hope to see you sooner next time.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel. Clean and spacious rooms. We had a room with a fireplace, which was very nice, but it was hot in Monterey, so we did not use it much. The restaurant (Esteban) was very nice but pricey. It is within walking distance to the downtown area and Cannery Row. Great staff, nice pool and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe King with Fireplace room. The weather is cooling off a bit now and the fireplace is a great addition in the evening. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok it's not a five star but the price is right. The staff are very helpfull and friendly. The hotel has a nice historic look with modern feel.I have been going her for the last 25 years and it's imporves with age. Very cozy and that's what we look for. The service can't be beat as they go out of their way to help.

Room Tip: I'm not giving away my secret as I will never be able to book my favorite quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your continued loyalty to the Casa Munras Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the changes to the Casa Munras over the years. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When traveling through Monterey, we decided to stay at Casa Munras. We had heard the restaurant, Esteban, had a great tapas happy hour.
We got a room in the back. Parking was a bit of a problem for a motel where you park in front of your door. When we went out later in the evening, we had to park a couple of aisles away from where our room was in a dark parking lot. In high heels, it was a bit of a trek.
Our room was small but charming. Think B&B instead of hotel. The bathroom was in need of a remodel but had good products stocked.
The bed was comfy. We didn't watch tv in the room because the tv was really close to the bed and there was no where else in the room to sit and see it.
When I got dressed for the evening, it was difficult to see in the mirror to make sure my outfit was ok.
Esteban is definitely a happening place with cheap tapas prices at Happy Hour. Great service too! Outside seating with heaters when it's cool out is a nice feature.
The pool area is a bit 60's motor court looking but we didn't use it.
Casa Munras is perfectly servicable but not as special as I had hoped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Casa Munras Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Happy Hour so much. Apart from our regular menu and happy hour our restaurant also hosts some really exciting special events such as Paella making classes on the patio and wine pairing dinners. Coming up next we have a three course Thanksgiving menu. I hope you will come back and stay/dine with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel in Monterey, CA is perfectly located walking distance to the downtown area, the wharf and Peets Coffee and Trader Joes. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and welcoming. I love Esteban, the on-site restaurant, for their happy hour offering. The rooms are comfortable and I get down/feather pillows - a plus! The Fitness Center (accessible 24 hrs with room key) is always clean and stocked with towels, fresh fruit, cleaning wipes for the equipment and cold water. I stay here many times a year when I come to the area for business. Thank you Casa Munras for creating such a fabulous hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Casa Munras. It is truly a pleasure to hear from satisfied repeat guests. Thank you so much for your kind review, and we look forward to the next opportunity to have you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
www.hotelcasamunras.com
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munras Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Esteban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Esteban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Munras Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.