We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here - go to Hotel Abrego instead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Munras Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't go here - go to Hotel Abrego instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I did myself in on this one. I was suckered in by the very cute outside landscaping and I typicallyl like Larkspur properties but this one was a hum dinger. It is very noisy - I heard my neighbor snoring at 1:00 am. Every person who spoke in the parking lot sounded like they were right outside my window. The first room we were placed me in was next to the very busy maid's station. I asked to be moved and then realized every room was noisy. The bathroom is so small the only way two people can fit in it at the same time is when one is in the shower. They have a pool but the jacuzzi is only for those who care to pay for $100 spa treatment - no day spa fees. I called and asked if they had a day spa fee like many finer resorts do (this was a Monday, and the hotel had about 8 guests staying there) and she said, "unfortunately no." I said, "have you ever thought of changing the policy especially during the week?" She said, "um no, and we do have some guests today."

I should have stayed at the Hotel Abrego - bigger rooms, nicer employees, it's very quiet, it has a pool and jacuzzi for all guests to use. Go there instead or go someplace else not this obnoxious money pit.

Room Tip: Don't go here - go to the Hotel Abrego
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Jane,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It sounds like your reservation was for one of our smaller "Cozy Queen" rooms. We do have a variety of room types at our property and I am confident that given another opportunity we would be able to improve upon your experience. Should you be willing to give our hotel another try or should you like to discuss your stay any further please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
831-233-7902
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    343
    168
    72
    37
See reviews for
205
431
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This old hotel has had some remodeling done and it is a good choice for the moderate rate! We liked the central location, close to Carmel, Monterey, Pacific Grove and Pebble Beach! Our room was very quiet and spacious!

Room Tip: Single story rooms with a king bed and fireplace are a better choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for staying and for your review.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Munras, and thank you for including a traveler tip. We have some great off season rates and packages kicking in should you decide to come back to see us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel is clean and newer but not too fancy. Front desk very friendly and helpful. It is close to the main street for shops and restaurants and a short walk from the pier and beach. Trader Joe's and coffee shops close by which is good too.

I wouldn't choose it for a romantic getaway but for the average tourist that wants a nice clean hotel in a good location then this for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for mentioning the front desk staff. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. Please come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabinra Siino
Front Office Manager
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A group of us (6 total), all locals, booked Spa appointment's to celebrate a birthday. Upon arrival the clerk greeted us, seemed a little shy, but very nice none the less. This was my first time at the Sano Spa and I was actually really excited to experience this spa. I was given a key for my locker and upon opening it there was NO robe, No towel, No spa slippers; my friend’s locker had all this provided in her locker. Ok... so no big deal there weren't these items in my locker as they were accessible in a shelf above the lockers (very hard to reach). Before walking out to the Jacuzzi tub we asked for a simple cheese plate order, this was around 6:15pm. The clerk handed us a glass of the champagne from the champagne we provided for all of us ladies. The other girls began to arrive, one of which did not receive her champagne and after asking several times for this to be brought out I jumped out of the Jacuzzi to walk back into the Spa and obtain the glass myself. At the same time I inquired about the cheese plate ordered earlier as it was now 6:45pm and the clerk said, "Oh yeah let me check with the Chef, I know they are very busy in the restaurant right now." 3 of the ladies spa appointment were to begin at 7pm and the other 3 were to begin at 8pm. We had stressed that we were hungry and wanted the cheese snack for all of us over hold us over until dinner. By 7:50pm my friend and I walked over to the clerk again and asked about the cheese plate at which time she advised us that the restaurant does not make cheese plates. She added that she had been trying to call the restaurant but no one would answer the phone. What?!?! We were obviously frustrated, hungry and not happy. Why did the clerk wait all this time before informing us that there was NO option for a cheese plate order when we had ordered it initially at 6:15pm? Finally someone brought over a menu so that we could at least order tapas, but at this point we would not all be able to eat together as the 3 ladies were just finishing their treatments and the 3 of us waiting were now needing to go in for our massages. In any event, an order was placed as we still needed food in our stomachs.

My treatment began at 8pm and being that I obtain massages on a regular basis I informed the masseuse that I would prefer lotion over oil, did not want my head or scalp massaged at all and no lotion and/or oil in my hair, etc. Shared my problem areas with her and now we are ready to begin… I was very much looking forward to this massage as it was much needed after a long week. The massage at best was a 3 rating out of 10. Very nice, pleasant, courteous woman but rather than give me a massage she gave me a rub down. There was barely any pressure provided and none of my knots were worked on! I left the massage feeling the same way I did before arriving. Money spent for this “massage” was a waste.

Once the last three of us were done with our treatments we joined the others to eat some food. The food arrived at some point during our treatments. No napkins provided, only 4 forks provided and when we asked for 2 more forks we were only given 1 extra and informed that they had no other forks.

When we finally celebrated the final part of the birthday with the desserts, the clerk approached us and informed us that the Spa would be closing in 5 minutes… we had just opened our last bottle of champagne in which we could not enjoy as we were now being rushed out.
Would I say this was a good value for money spent? NO. Would I say that the overall experience brought relaxation? NO. This was not a good experience and wasted money spent! I would not recommend this Spa as the overall services was very poor and not guest service oriented. It’s too bad because the Spa itself is very cute but without the proper service, being cute doesn’t cut it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hello. I am very sorry to hear that you left with a negative experience. In discussing with my team, I am having a difficult time understanding how the events occurred, particularly regarding the food component as that is not a typical offering within our spa. I would like to discuss and hopefully amend the situation at your convenience. You can reach me at sanospa@sanospamonterey.com.

Thank you,
Lauren Itson, Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Branch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a beautiful, quiet hotel located in the historic district of Monterey. The room were very cozy and the fireplace made the room nice very inviting after a day of sight-seeing. The pool was a warm 82 degrees. Perfect for swimming on a beautiful cool afternoon. Within walking distance of wonderful shops and restaurants. Take advantage of the front desk persons. They are very knowledgable regarding the area and have free & discount coupons available. Will return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay and review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and had the opportunity for a dip in our warm pool. The weather this time of year is perfect. You are absolutley right about the front desk staff and I appreciate you mentioning them. They are incredibly helpful, and we do have quite a few VIP and discount offers to local restaurants that our guests can take advantge of. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I spent two nights there in one of the larger rooms upstairs in the main building. Wile somewhat $$$, it was a fantastic experience. The room was clean, linens and bedding was way wonderful,, and there was a soaking tub and a fireplace. The bathroom had a large walk in shower, the overall ambiance of this room was simple, soothing and unassuming. The Hotel staff was friendly, forthcoming, professional. Their restaurant Esteban was also a nice experience with excellent service. The food quality and selection was outstanding, except for one small dish that seemed heavy handed on the spices. The grounds are beautiful, well kept, and the outside seating area of the restaurant offers patio heaters and fireplace for colder nights.
The bed was comfortable, amazingly so.

Room Tip: I stayed in 701. Outstanding room. 102 and 103 are also very nice. Stayed there during previous visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for returning to the Casa Munras, and for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Concierge King room 701. That is one of my personal favorites. Thank you for mentioning your good expereince at Esteban restaurant as well. we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent two nights here over a holiday weekend - rooms are well appointed and look fairly recently updated. It is just a few blocks walk to groceries and some restaurants. We were over the pool, which gave us somewhat of a view, but a tiny bit noisy (not the fault of the hotel, but of the noisy guests). Staff was very nice and helpful. Note: If you want a refrigerator in the room, suggest you arrange beforehand (seems to not be a problem, but when they get busy, might be an issue). Overall, very pleasant and would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday weekend stay here. Thank you for mentioning the refrigerator. All of our rooms except for our smaller Cozy Queen rooms come equipped with a refrigerator automatically. In our Cozy Queen rooms we are always happy to deliver a fridge upon request, though as you mentioned it is very helpful if you let us know in advance. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Munras Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Esteban. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Esteban is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Munras Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Munras Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.