We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - rooms a bit outdated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location - rooms a bit outdated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way down the pacific coast highway. Staff were very helpful on check in - although our room wasn't ready for us. The room was ok for a family of 4 - if not a little outdated - there was free wi-fi and cable tv (although no Disney channel - much to the kids disgust). Our room looked out onto the street - but was located in a sort of courtyard area. The trek up from the car park (cost $14) was a bit of chore - but too be fair we had 3 weeks worth of luggage. Breakfast was better than i expected with a choice of basic cereals, toast, bagels, pastries, juice, sausage and omelettes, The ladies worked hard to keep everything topped up. It is shame they don't have a larger area for seating - it wasn't practical to take our food on trays back to the room - so we had to hang around and wait for a table. All in all not bad - and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are very appreciative of your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time to share. We were pleased that you found our location to be excellent, as it is just two blocks away from Cannery Row. However, we were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are happy to report that we will be renovating our breakfast parlor to create additional seating for our guests to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and are very sorry that seating was full during your stay. Additionally, we will be renovating our front desk, room corridors, and bathrooms beginning this fall. In 2013, we did purchase all new furniture, flat screen televisions, patio furniture, and artwork for our guest rooms, as we are continually committed to investing back in our properties. We hope that you will be pleased with the upcoming changes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    387
    103
    33
    16
See reviews for
264
512
31
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on our recent stay in Monterey. The hotel is located in a great location about two blocks from Cannery Row. It's a great location becuase you're close but not too close to be bothered by tourists and noise.

Our room was older but really quite spacious and also had a fireplace. While we felt 100% safe (our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street), I liked the fact that the sliding door had a bar across it for extra safety.

The breakfast was really enjoyable however there is limited space and seating and it was easier to grab a tray and take it back to our room. There are also Manager's Drinks each evening which was really nice. The staff were always friendly and welcoming too. They explained the extras provided on check-in, gave us a map and also some outlet shopping tips when we checked out.

There is parking under the hotel (for a small fee which we had no issue paying given it meant our car was out of the weather and off the street) and the hotel also offers free wi-fi.

Overall, a really nice hotel/inn and one we would recommend given it's location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing and for pointing out so many of the highlights of the Victorian Inn from our staff to the amenities we offer. We are very happy you enjoyed our selection during our complimentary breakfast and are happy to share that this fall we will be renovating our breakfast parlor to create additional seating for our guests. We will also be renovating our room corridors, lobby, and bathrooms. We can’t wait to welcome you back to experience the exciting changes.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night. Great location, only one block from Cannery Row. We had a corner room...it was large but no balcony. Beds and pillows were comfortable. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon and breakfast was very good. Be careful pulling into the garage...there is a sign that states low cars will bottom out. Staff was helpful and the room was clean. And again, great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed so much of what we offer from our location to our friendly staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We came to the hotel for a weekend getaway and were greatly impressed by the hotel staff. The front desk was helpful and polite and the breakfast was more than satisfactory. The décor is slightly aged, but the rooms were very comfortable and clean. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at the Victorian Inn. I want to thank you for your very kind words regarding our service staff; we recognize that their hard work is a large part of what makes our hotel unique, and I am happy to pass along your comments to them. Regarding your guest room, we were all delighted that you found it to be comfortable and clean and are excited to share that we will begin renovations on our breakfast parlor, lobby, room corridors and bathrooms this fall. We hope that during your return you have the opportunity to experience the updates firsthand and will be pleased with our choices.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint hotel in a great location in a very nice resort. The room was a bit smaller than some but it was very clean and well appointed. There was free wine tea, coffee and nibbles around 5 oclock which were constantly stocked up. Staff were very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A free continental breakfast is provided which is of good quality. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are absolutely thrilled that you found our rooms well-appointed and clean, as comfort and cleanliness are top priorities of ours. We can’t wait to welcome you back and look forward to providing you with another delightful stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good location, one block away from Cannery Row. Stayed here for one night. Opted for on site parking and paid an additional fee, then discovered street parking in the immediate area for free. Room was clean and spacious, with a fireplace. Free breakfast was good, but lacked seating in the dining area. This was okay, as the establishment allowed food to be brought back to the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here in July in a deluxe room. Room was nice, comfortably furnished and clean, bathroom could probably do with an update but certainly useful to have a sink outside the main bathroom! Liked the balcony overlooking the courtyard - just never had time to use it. Breakfast was tasty and enough for our needs. We only had the wine and cheese on one evening, but it was well presented. Free wifi useful. Staff were friendly.The location for the price was a winner - walking distance to the Aquarium and other places. We even walked to Pacific Grove for dinner one night, so very central. I'm pleased we chose this hotel, particularly for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.