We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on our recent stay in Monterey. The hotel is located in a great location about two blocks from Cannery Row. It's a great location becuase you're close but not too close to be bothered by tourists and noise.

Our room was older but really quite spacious and also had a fireplace. While we felt 100% safe (our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street), I liked the fact that the sliding door had a bar across it for extra safety.

The breakfast was really enjoyable however there is limited space and seating and it was easier to grab a tray and take it back to our room. There are also Manager's Drinks each evening which was really nice. The staff were always friendly and welcoming too. They explained the extras provided on check-in, gave us a map and also some outlet shopping tips when we checked out.

There is parking under the hotel (for a small fee which we had no issue paying given it meant our car was out of the weather and off the street) and the hotel also offers free wi-fi.

Overall, a really nice hotel/inn and one we would recommend given it's location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaquelineS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing and for pointing out so many of the highlights of the Victorian Inn from our staff to the amenities we offer. We are very happy you enjoyed our selection during our complimentary breakfast and are happy to share that this fall we will be renovating our breakfast parlor to create additional seating for our guests. We will also be renovating our room corridors, lobby, and bathrooms. We can’t wait to welcome you back to experience the exciting changes.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rutland, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night. Great location, only one block from Cannery Row. We had a corner room...it was large but no balcony. Beds and pillows were comfortable. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon and breakfast was very good. Be careful pulling into the garage...there is a sign that states low cars will bottom out. Staff was helpful and the room was clean. And again, great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wookie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed so much of what we offer from our location to our friendly staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We came to the hotel for a weekend getaway and were greatly impressed by the hotel staff. The front desk was helpful and polite and the breakfast was more than satisfactory. The décor is slightly aged, but the rooms were very comfortable and clean. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at the Victorian Inn. I want to thank you for your very kind words regarding our service staff; we recognize that their hard work is a large part of what makes our hotel unique, and I am happy to pass along your comments to them. Regarding your guest room, we were all delighted that you found it to be comfortable and clean and are excited to share that we will begin renovations on our breakfast parlor, lobby, room corridors and bathrooms this fall. We hope that during your return you have the opportunity to experience the updates firsthand and will be pleased with our choices.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint hotel in a great location in a very nice resort. The room was a bit smaller than some but it was very clean and well appointed. There was free wine tea, coffee and nibbles around 5 oclock which were constantly stocked up. Staff were very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A free continental breakfast is provided which is of good quality. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jstuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are absolutely thrilled that you found our rooms well-appointed and clean, as comfort and cleanliness are top priorities of ours. We can’t wait to welcome you back and look forward to providing you with another delightful stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good location, one block away from Cannery Row. Stayed here for one night. Opted for on site parking and paid an additional fee, then discovered street parking in the immediate area for free. Room was clean and spacious, with a fireplace. Free breakfast was good, but lacked seating in the dining area. This was okay, as the establishment allowed food to be brought back to the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale32931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here in July in a deluxe room. Room was nice, comfortably furnished and clean, bathroom could probably do with an update but certainly useful to have a sink outside the main bathroom! Liked the balcony overlooking the courtyard - just never had time to use it. Breakfast was tasty and enough for our needs. We only had the wine and cheese on one evening, but it was well presented. Free wifi useful. Staff were friendly.The location for the price was a winner - walking distance to the Aquarium and other places. We even walked to Pacific Grove for dinner one night, so very central. I'm pleased we chose this hotel, particularly for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trupti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed one night room was very nice! Clean pet friendly staff very cheery and kind . Felt very safe and the comp wine cheese in the late afternoon was fun. Total child friendly too. Breakfast in am a hit! Location was a short walking distance to Monterey Bay Aquarium and all the fun shops and food! Would differently stay again!

Green Features: Water conservation stessed I think that's a must!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your compliments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your kind sentiments regarding our staff, location, and amenities. It is important to us to not only provide a welcoming experience for our guests, but also their pets and were very happy that this was the case during your stay. We are so glad you would stay with us again and all look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing