We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here in July in a deluxe room. Room was nice, comfortably furnished and clean, bathroom could probably do with an update but certainly useful to have a sink outside the main bathroom! Liked the balcony overlooking the courtyard - just never had time to use it. Breakfast was tasty and enough for our needs. We only had the wine and cheese on one evening, but it was well presented. Free wifi useful. Staff were friendly.The location for the price was a winner - walking distance to the Aquarium and other places. We even walked to Pacific Grove for dinner one night, so very central. I'm pleased we chose this hotel, particularly for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    460
    119
    35
    19
See reviews for
335
616
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed one night room was very nice! Clean pet friendly staff very cheery and kind . Felt very safe and the comp wine cheese in the late afternoon was fun. Total child friendly too. Breakfast in am a hit! Location was a short walking distance to Monterey Bay Aquarium and all the fun shops and food! Would differently stay again!

Green Features: Water conservation stessed I think that's a must!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your compliments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your kind sentiments regarding our staff, location, and amenities. It is important to us to not only provide a welcoming experience for our guests, but also their pets and were very happy that this was the case during your stay. We are so glad you would stay with us again and all look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel. Outstanding location in regards to cannery row and fisherman's wharf in Monterey and Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nice welcome with free wifi.

First impressions aren't terribly promising with a walk to the accommodation block down a 1970s carpeted corridor. You expect Huggy Bear to leap out from behind the armoir in the hallway. Apparently we had an upgrade. Our room was comfortable with period look furniture and fireplace. TV reception was a little poor but this wasn't too important.


5 minute walk from Cannery Rown.

I'd recommend going to the Intercontinental Bar by the sea.

Monterey is very over rated in my view but this hotel was reasonable value.

Street parking is available overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade (?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that your initial impressions were changed throughout your stay and are happy to report that we will begin updating room corridors this fall. We will also begin renovations to our guest bathrooms, front desk, and breakfast parlor as well. In 2013, we did purchase all new furniture, art work, patio furniture, and flat screen televisions for our guest’s room, as we are continually investing in our properties. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you will be pleased with the changes.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Best Western Victorian Inn is in a great location that allows an easy walk to many of the shops and restaurants on Cannery Row. My room was comfortable and charming and included a fireplace, which may come in handy in Winter. The bathrooms are in need of a update by most comparisons of equally priced hotels. The afternoon wine and cheese is a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you won't hear footsteps from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are very appreciative of your feedback and are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed not only our hotel, but also our close proximity to Cannery Row shops and restaurants. However, we were disappointed that our bathrooms did not live up to your expectations and are excited to share that this fall we will be beginning guest bathroom renovations. Currently we are in the process of creating two model bathrooms which will serve as a template for the continuation of the renovation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and hope that you will be pleased with these changes.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is located just one block off Cannery Row, convenient to the Aquarium, Cannery Row shops and restaurants, and surrey bike rentals.

While the decor (interior and exterior) is seriously dated, the hotel is clean, the staff is incredibly and helpful. The lobby has a computer where you can print tickets to attractions for free, which is a nice perk.

Wifi was also included in the room rate.

Parking is an additional $15/night, but the garage is just below ground level, covered, with ample spots, and monitored enough by the always-busy housekeeping staff whose hub is located in the same area.

We requested a room with a patio, and got a courtyard view on the ground level. The rooms are large and spacious, the beds are very comfortable, and there is a fireplace in the room! What a nice perk.

We enjoyed the hot breakfast, included with the room rate, and the ability to take to the food back to our room. The breakfast included eggs, sausage, fruit, cereal, toast, juices, milk and coffee.

We only stayed one night in the middle of a summer week, and, while we noticed other travelers, the rooms were relatively quiet. We could hear the guests in the room above us throughout the evening in what seemed to be a stomping activity, but eventually they quieted down, too. We never complained to the management, but I am sure they would've been helpful if we'd needed to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or patio!
See more room tips
Green Features: California is in a drought, and this hotel seemed to be doing their best to conserve resources.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful accommodations, great staff, great breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese. Only downside was expensive daily parking. Centrally located, staff was eager to please, gave great suggestions for side trips and went out of their way to make our vacation enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.