We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Extremely friendly staff, excellent location - walking distance to Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquarium. Rooms were spacious with double sink and natural gas fireplace. Delicious complementary hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Gas fireplace is a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for all your kind words. We are overjoyed that you took notice of our welcoming staff, excellent location, spacious rooms, and complimentary breakfast. We hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    409
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
289
556
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

the location is great-an easy walk to Cannery Row, Aquarium, many great restaurants. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for where to eat- the wine and cheese hour is a nice time to choose a restaurant for dinner. The Aquarium is an easy 10 min. walk. Room was very clean with comfy bed and a cozy fireplace. We will return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
First and foremost, thank you for continually choosing the Victorian Inn as your hotel of choice. We are thrilled that we were able to once again meet all your expectations. Our staff is always ready to make recommendations of places to visit or restaurant’s to try, in the hopes that they will make your Monterey experience a memorable one. We are so appreciative of your multiple reviews and cannot wait to welcome you back!

Warmest Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Location was very convenient. Park once and walk everywhere. Room was spacious and clean. Wine and cheese and breakfast were nice perks. Staff were able to check us in early, and let us check out a bit later (enabling us to change after kayaking). Always willing to provide assistance in any way they could. Good value compared to other properties in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review your stay. We could not be happier that our staff was able to make your stay more enjoyable by accommodating an early check in and late checkout. If we have the flexibility to do so, we are always happy to offer these accommodations to our guests. Kayaking is one of the many adventures Monterey has to offer and we were ecstatic to hear you were able to experience that. We also want to thank you for noticing our convenient onsite parking. This is truly what makes our location so amazing, is that you can park once and walk everywhere, being so close to restaurants, stores, The Aquarium, Cannery Row, and much more. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stay here on a regular basis and are always satisfied with the value. The breakfast could be a bit better . Best part about this hotel: Location Location Location. Once we park the car in their covered parking, we seldom get back in it until we leave. Everything including the aquarium and great eats is within a short walk

Room Tip: Book a Top floor ocean peak room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Walking is just a couple blocks to Cannery Row. Room was good size, I had 2 beds, nice fireplace, small balcony with 2 chairs. Room was nice and clean. Complimentary breakfast was good with a variety of food, eggs, sausages, etc. Dining room seemed to accommodate everyone. Only complaint is I could hear trucks driving by at night and the room above had kids which the parents allowed them (at 10 pm ) to jump off the bed or chairs, had to put in a call to the front desk since the jumping did not stop. But the location was very good and the staff very friendly and offered dining suggestions.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room off the Main Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Victorian Inn. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your room during your stay. We think the comforting touches, such as our warm fireplaces and our complimentary breakfasts, are truly a welcoming treat for our guests. We are sincerely sorry that you experienced some noise in your room during your stay, but were pleased that you notified our front desk staff so that they could immediately respond. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another wonderful Monterey experience.

Warmest Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budva
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

very nice hotel. great location, helpful staff. we enjoyed our stay .cannery row is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. I recommend every one to stay in this hotel.the room is very big and convenient, the bed is very big and good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was clean, and is a very good location.
The breakfast and wine reception were both very nice.
The hotel property was a bit old and is in need of some updating.
There was no air conditioning (normally not a problem but the temperature was rather warm).
The price was high for the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for pointing out our great location and all the extras we offer, such as complimentary breakfast and our wine and cheese reception. We were sorry to hear that during your stay it was increasingly warm, as this is not typical. All our rooms do have oscillating tower fans, but typically being a few blocks away from the bay allows for a comfortable ocean breeze. Regarding our pricing, we do set our prices to create value for our customers, however we are always seeking new ways to improve. In 2013 we did complete many upgrades to all our guest rooms which did include, new mattress sets, 42’’ flat screens, artwork, night stands, desks, and chairs. We do also offer our guests added extras such as complimentary hot breakfast each morning and a wine and cheese reception in the evening. I sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back, so that we might demonstrate how truly dedicated we are to providing a wonderful Monterey experience.

Warmest Regards,

Management at the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.