We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Given where it is located, this hotel is very good bargain.
The rooms are especially roomy and well maintained.
Room and linen are clean.
Continental breakfast runs to eggs , sausages, cereals fruits, ... the works.
The rooms have fireplaces and are well decorated.
Ground level rooms have balconies at the back, but without a view or privacy.
It is conveniently located, on a quiet street, within 5 minutes walk from Cannery row.
The hotel has paid parking, which is much cheaper than what you would pay in town. They let us leave our there past checkout without charging extra while we spent the day out at the aquarium.
The hotel also has little perks like fresh cold drinking water in the lobby, friendly staff, a wine-and-cheese reception every day(maybe), and a decent breakfast spread (did I mention that already?)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    430
    111
    34
    16
See reviews for
310
578
33
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first over night stay in Monterey and just at random we choise the BEst Western Victorian Inn. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and our room was way more than expected.....very clean and oh how wonderful it smelled..very nice comfortable bed..We didn't eat the breakfast that was offered nor did we do the wine and cheese tasting as our time was limited, but over all "when" we make it back up that way we will stay at BWVI again :)

Room Tip: very good location if you want to just walk to the water front....few blocks down and few blocks nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Dogs Welcome - Don Schissel Concord CA

A man wrote a letter to a
Small hotel in a Midwest town he planned to visit on his vacation.


He wrote: I
Would very much like to bring my dog with me. He is well-groomed and very
Well behaved. Would you be willing to permit me to keep him in my room
With me at night?

An immediate reply came
From the hotel owner, who wrote:

SIR: I've been operating
This hotel for many years. In all that time, I've never had a dog steal
Towels, bedclothes, silverware or pictures off the walls. I've never had
To evict a dog in the middle of the night for being drunk and disorderly.
And I've never had a dog run out on a hotel bill. Yes, indeed, your dog is
Welcome at my hotel. And if your Dog will vouch for you, you're welcome to
Stay here, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were here April 12-17. After flying all day, getting lost from the airport, and having trouble getting the transponder key out of our crazy rental car, we were a bit late for the wine the evening we checked in, but the wonderful Michele and Victor treated us. Michele, the manager, was a great friend to us the whole time. The 2nd floor room was huge + the location was perfect. We liked the included breakfast & afternoon happy hour. The underground parking was well worth the fee. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

lovely accommodation- additional charge for parking ($13 per night) and the internet was not very good in the rooms but lovely size rooms and clean
breakfast was simple but did the job
afternoon 4.30-5.30 they do free cheese and wine (lemonade and coffee) which was nice after a long drive
location is one block to the waterfront- easy to find from the highway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Monterrey to relax and go to the aquarium. This was a perfect s helpfulpot. The staff was helpful and welcoming. We parked the car and walked to the places we visited. So much easier. We almost missed the lovely garden in the courtyard. We ail deginetly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishmosh2000
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Best Western is in a great location. A short walk from the Coastal trail, Fisherman's Wharf, Aquarium, Path of History, etc. The area is easy to get to by car and there is plenty of parking in the basement (surcharge). The room was a little old but very clean and very quality where it counts (at least for me): bed, desk. The nicer touches include a high ceiling (stayed on the 2nd floor), a mini-fridge and a working gas fireplace which actually was very nice. Although I did not sample them, there is a continental breakfast and an afternoon wine/cheese reception daily--nice touches! All in all, very happy with my stay and would definitely stay there again when in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.