We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Clean and inviting Inn which looks more like condos with balconies and much foliage. Great location just a couple short blocks to Cannery Row. Ended up spending 2 nights instead of one. Very nice room...well appointed. Front desk staff were super friendly and helpful with walking maps etc. gratis wine and cheese every afternoon and btw the wine was good!

Room Tip: Enjoyed a king size room with glimpse of the ocean....ask for AAA rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    372
    97
    32
    16
See reviews for
249
499
29
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice room w/ fireplace for great price in Monterey through Bookings.com. Good continental breakfast. Parking in garage was $13 which I don't like, but otherewise it is close to Cannery Row and downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent one night at the Best Western Victorian Inn when we took our 5-year-old grandson to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The inn is just one block off Cannery Row and an easy walk to the aquarium. It is also an easy walk to the businesses on Lighthouse Avenue. Our room had two double beds and two small tables with chairs...very comfortable. I liked that we had a sink outside the bathroom as well as another one inside the bathroom. This made it easy for all of us to get ready. A very nice breakfast is included. Parking cost $13. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

While there are lots of more expensive places in Monterey, this is the place we choose to stay. The rooms are large and clean, the fireplaces are a really nice touch and the hotel is in the perfect location ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here on our roadtrip down route 1 and everything about the hotel was superb. Excellent location brilliant accomodation and staff that went out of their way to be welcoming and offer assistance.
If we return to Monteray we would not stay any where else!

Room Tip: We sayed on the top floor and had two rooms which were both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I planned a 2 day get away with my 2 children and checked in my room at 2pm .about 545pm half the block pg&e went out due to a sea gull flying into a transformer.i understand it was no ones fault but it was an inconvienence because my 1yr old got extremly fussy and I couldnt even shower & dress for dinner reservation on time due to us not being able to see in the dark.so we had to leave in the clothes we wore all day.then later that night about 9pm we returned to r room and the electricity was back on so I decided to give myself and my 1yr old a bath while bathing some sort of black stuff began comming out of the over flow drain into the bathtub OMG! HOW NASTY &UNSANITARY! It looked like some thing had been burned then put in the water.i called down stairs they sent up the maintenence guy.he couldnt fix the prob & explained its happened a few other times and believes its a pluming issue.so then me and my children had to pack up into another room wich was a headache because I was sooo tired from driving 3hours to get there & walking around at the aquarium and later walking to go eat dinner.i just wanted to bathe and go to sleep.i was offered 75$off of my 209$ wich I accepted .then the morning I was leaving the water was shut off .i was told to fix a valve .then at check out I was over charged 25$ and i caught it after signing and had to go back and show them then they adjusted it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hi,

We just spent a one night at this place, and personally, I feel it is a good place to stay as it is conveniently located, good breakfast for a "Best Western" style hotel, and friendly staff.

We stayed in two of the rooms on the third floor since we had our 9 months son traveling with us so I wanted a quiet room, a bit away from the elevators. The rooms were comfy and nicely appointed although the bathroom seem a bit out dated. The fireplace was a nice addition as it added a little something extra to the cozy room.

Unfortunately, although the outside noise was kept to an absolute minimum due to the location of our rooms (303 and 304), the in-room heater noise was too much for my father-in-law as he could not get much sleep throughout the night.

No, the noise was not super loud. However, with way that these gas furnace heater work can be annoying for light sleepers.

The review would be a solid 4 star and if not for this heater noise issue for my father-in-law.

It would be nice if these HVAC systems can be upgraded in the future so light sleepers can get a better night of sleep..

Overall, I would still recommend it if you are not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.