We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely atmosphere with great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
orange
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere with great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed early January in the 1 bedroom suite so we had a kitchen and 2 of the lovely fires which add a great atmosphere. The hotel has easy parking and is a short walk to all that Monterey has to offer. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was really generous and fresh, with the ladies bustling about making sure everyone was happy. It can get crowded, but you are encouraged to take a tray full of food back to your room if there is nowhere to sit. We really felt at home here after our stays in the big hotels of Vegas and SanFrancisco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello kasparorange,

First and foremost, thank you so much for chosing the Victorian Inn for your recent trip. And, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback. We are very proud of our hotel; in its rooms and amenities, but more so of its people. There are a lot of hotels in Monterey, and I know that it is the quality of the people working at a property which helps it to stand out. Knowing this, I am happy to say that everyone on our staff truly takes pride in providing personal, attentive service. Seeing that service commented on here means a great deal to me, and I am happy to share your kind words and high ranking.

Thank you, again. We all look forward to the chance to welcome you back soon!

the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    435
    115
    35
    16
See reviews for
319
585
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Victorian Inn last summer during our vacation to northern California. We reserved our stay through Costco. The hotel is very well located, only a few blocks from Monterey Bay, the aquarium, and many shops and restaurants. The room was adequate. It's dimensions were good, but the decor was a little dated. Also, we had a room on the first floor, which had a little outdoor patio. It was a somewhat noisy, though not overwhelmingly so, because numerous guests walked past quite close to the room. The included breakfast was just OK, though the afternoon wine tasting was very nice. The restaurant suggestions were quite good, too. All in all, I would recommend staying here if you can get a good deal on the rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello dag1963,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your very thoughtful review.
For the past two years we’ve been embarking a series of very exciting update and upgrades to the hotel. We have already replaced the mattress sets, light fixtures in the rooms, patio furniture, bathroom mirrors, and guestroom desk chairs, and installed 42”, flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. Currently, we are in the midst of upgrading our guestroom night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, dressers, drapes, and décor – and in the process, repainting and giving an overall refresh to the rooms. We are all very excited for these improvements, and we hope you can make it back this year so that you can experience all of our upgrades for yourself!

Thank you, again,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Husband found this hotel online. Two blocks to Cannery Row and he was able to call in and get a good price. $103 for Sunday night before tax. There is a $14 charge for parking. The place was WONDERFUL. Husband shared with person on the phone that this was our belated anniversary trip. Staff left a bottle of wine and chocolates for us. The room was actually in the Victorian house (only 2 are). Room was beautiful. Victorian decore. They serve wine, cheese and fruit for an hour during the early evening. Breakfast in the morning includes eggs, french toast, sausage, cereal, bread, etc. Great deal. Staff was very helpful with all our requests. This is a gem of a hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This pleasant hotel is a short (though fairly steep) walk from Cannery Row and the waterfront. Our room was pleasant, staff were friendly and breakfast was good.

There was a wine and cheese reception for guests each afternoon when we enjoyed talking to some of the other guests staying in the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in the Deluxe King room, the room was clean and the fireplace was romantic. The staff was friendly and the complimentary breakfast was really good for being complimentary. I forgot a few things (toothbrush, toothpaste etc.) and they had them delivered to my room. I was able to check in early when we arrived in Monterey because our room was ready and loved the late checkout, made the trip more relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Keri O,

More than anything, thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Victorian Inn. It is our mission to provide a welcoming, friendly environment to our guests, and I am thrilled to hear that our staff was able to provide such for you. We know that, while traveling, some things can slip a persons’ mind – so I am glad that the toothbrush and toothpaste we delivered was able to help.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! And the opportunity to earn that fifth star by really wowing you!

Thank you, again,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, Calif.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have a big dog and had to find a new place to stay in Monterey that took dogs .This place is great and my dog loves it too. Excellent restaurants just around the corner and walk to beach and Cannery row . The staff is excellent . Also they have a nice fireplace and had a dog bowl with food and water . A nice reception area to hang out. Wine and cheese at nite and a jacuzzi outside for a nice soak in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a great view on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello okfin_8,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to share. I am very glad to hear that both you and your dog had such a great stay. We are very proud to offer pet friendly rooms, services, and welcome treats! We’re all looking forward to welcoming you both back to Monterey soon.

Thank you, again,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night in January 2013. The hotel is very close to the Aquarium and to Cannery Row. The staff member at check in was very helpful. We found our family suite to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. There were a few little niggles at this property - given the space, queen sized beds would have been lovely. And the charming breakfast room gets a bit cramped. But the breakfast options were generous and the food was tasty.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.