We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great room, awesome value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great room, awesome value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had a room on the 3rd floor and it was great. It had cathedral ceiling, a gas fireplace and even a deck. The kingsize bed was extremely comfortable and seemed to have an endless supply of pillows, which is always a plus! I found even the breakfast enjoyable and never crowded. My only disappointment was with the $13 per day parking fee, as it was never mentioned ahead of time. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel if you are taking in Monterey.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    423
    110
    34
    16
See reviews for
300
562
32
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were in town for the Big Sur Half Marathon and the value of this hotel was insurmountable. We had a wonderful weekend! The location was close to the race route. We enjoyed being able to walk everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've learned that in Monterey, when we find a great place, whether it be a restaurant or a hotel, we should stick with it every time we go back. We stayed at BW Victorian Inn few years ago and remember that it was really nice. Unfortunately, since then, we have stayed in way too many hotels with unacceptable standards in service and quality. We decided to return to the Victorian Inn, and it was as nice as I'd remembered, and the service level was impeccable. The room was spacious and well maintained, and the fire place was definitely a bonus, esp. great for a cooler night like the night we'd arrived. The location was absolutely perfect being that it was only a block away from Cannery Row, and although our room was facing the street, it was absolutely quiet. We'll definitely return to BW Victorian Inn whenever we're in Monterey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila area
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here during our family vacation in California. There are not many hotels in Monterey that allow 5 to a room. Me were very happy with the hotel, the suite's layout and the location was great for walking anywhere in town. They also offer a breakfast that is satisfactory for most.
We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked this hotel because it seemd convenient to fisherman's warf, Cannery Row, The Aquarium and the 17 mile drive. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was fantastic and everything was within walking distance. We loved it. The 17 mile drive was spectacular. Do not miss it. This was a great start to our California vacation. P.S. - the staff were terrific. everyone was friendly and more than helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We love this place! It's our little get-away whenever we come to Monterey; which is usually 2-3 tines a year. We have been coming here for years. We always get a third floor room which allows you a peek of the ocean. The hotel has been very generous in giving us a bottle of wine, chocolates, and a welcome back card on nearly every arrival! The rooms all have gas fireplaces. This last time we were given the corner room that not only had enough room for entertaining but the shower/tub combo had a jetted tub and dual shower heads.

We enjoy the breakfast provided and have met some very nice people over the years. Wine and cheese along with fruit in the afternoon is always lovely. We have our favorite places we like to eat..... Vivolo's Chowder House in Pacific Grove, The Sea Harvest right down the street, and The Whaling Station by Cannery Row. There are many others nearby that are just as wonderful. Great area for walking and taking in the sights. Reservations are easily made by the front desk staff for any place you which to dine. There is also a secluded jacuzzi in the court yard which has been a great treat to use. We will being returning for a visit in January, I'm sure:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room I. The back w/a peek of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.