We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Phila area
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here during our family vacation in California. There are not many hotels in Monterey that allow 5 to a room. Me were very happy with the hotel, the suite's layout and the location was great for walking anywhere in town. They also offer a breakfast that is satisfactory for most.
We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    394
    106
    33
    16
See reviews for
270
531
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked this hotel because it seemd convenient to fisherman's warf, Cannery Row, The Aquarium and the 17 mile drive. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was fantastic and everything was within walking distance. We loved it. The 17 mile drive was spectacular. Do not miss it. This was a great start to our California vacation. P.S. - the staff were terrific. everyone was friendly and more than helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We love this place! It's our little get-away whenever we come to Monterey; which is usually 2-3 tines a year. We have been coming here for years. We always get a third floor room which allows you a peek of the ocean. The hotel has been very generous in giving us a bottle of wine, chocolates, and a welcome back card on nearly every arrival! The rooms all have gas fireplaces. This last time we were given the corner room that not only had enough room for entertaining but the shower/tub combo had a jetted tub and dual shower heads.

We enjoy the breakfast provided and have met some very nice people over the years. Wine and cheese along with fruit in the afternoon is always lovely. We have our favorite places we like to eat..... Vivolo's Chowder House in Pacific Grove, The Sea Harvest right down the street, and The Whaling Station by Cannery Row. There are many others nearby that are just as wonderful. Great area for walking and taking in the sights. Reservations are easily made by the front desk staff for any place you which to dine. There is also a secluded jacuzzi in the court yard which has been a great treat to use. We will being returning for a visit in January, I'm sure:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room I. The back w/a peek of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came to Monterey for a conference at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa (which did not offer the gov't rate) - so we found this little Best Western gem close by. It was just a half a block over and 1 block down to the MPH&S conference hotel, which also has a lovel terrace to enjoy the bay and welcomes non-hotel guests.

So the Best Western was a great find -- basic chain hotel with some special amenities. The breakfast with eggs, sausage, toasts, etc. was a real plus. Also, so wonderful to come back in the evening light up the gas fireplace and enjoy the big flat screen TV. The front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Close to the tourist area of Cannery Row - and the less touristy area around the corner. Had a great night with colleagues playing darts at The Bulldog British Pub, 611 Lighthouse Ave. Also good sushi at Crystal Fish, 514 Lighthouse Ave.

Oh yea -- and the Barking Sea Lions --- I love them, but I am sure there are those who would be annoyed to stay somewhere nearer to the water where you hear them bark all night. This hotel is away from the barking sea lions....

Room Tip: Room 207 is back from the street - yet has a view between the buildings -- I could even glimpse the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a family road trip up the west coast and our first impression was not that great. We checked in early evening and asked the front desk for two recommendations- one for dinner that night and also for a whale watching tour the next day. We were quite disappointed that the only recommendations they provided us with (for both the dinner and tour) were places that they had discount coupons to and where not necessarily the nicest in town. In fact the "restaurant" they recommended could be called a take away place at best.
We also had further trouble with the front desk staff upon check out. When we went to our car (parked in the hotel car park) we found that we had a "parking fine" even though we had paid for parking with the hotel. After probably 20 mins of discussions with the front desk it was all sorted but it was not a great way to start the morning. Turns out we were meant to display some permit or ticket in our car window to show that we were registered guests but we were never told about this when we checked in.
Overall, it was a nice and quiet location, an easy walk to the water and the restaurants / shops of cannery row. The rooms were quite large and very clean. We did pay a minimal amount extra for a courtyard or garden view. I wouldn't bother with this as the "garden" was a few shrubs.
If you are new to the area and are looking for a place that can help you get around town I would not recommend this hotel, but if you are simply looking for a clean and average room I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Monterey was our stop on way back to LA from San Fransisco. Our room was on the top floor (3rd, i think) and it was super spacious. It had a working fire place and the tub had jets so I had a wonderful, relaxing bath after a long drive! Sure the entire place is a little outdated (it is Victorian style after all) but we found everything to clean and in working condition. When we entered our room, the heat was already on so the room was cozy and warm for us! Another great feature was the continental breakfast which was really a full blown breakfast (french toast, eggs, cereals, home made juices, and more) and it is served in this beautiful dining room/lounge room that gave you the feel of being in a B&B. We didnt get to really "see" Monterey bc we were just driving by, but the hotel seems a close walk from Cannery Row. We will def be back! My husband actually liked this room better than our VERY expensive and chic San Francisco boutique hotel in Union Square (The Adagio, which we LOVE)!

Room Tip: Top floor is always quieter, nice view, balcony. Ask for fire place room and jet tub if you like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.