We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place was a little hard for us to find, because it is small, and it is up a block or two from other larger hotels. That turned out to be a good thing because we really liked the more residential feel of this hotel's location.

The front desk help was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and very nice. Our room was terrific. It was roomy, very nicely furnished, and it did have a working (and attractive) fireplace. You should consider opting for upstairs because things were a little close in and busy to use our patio, but we weren't in the room that much anyway. The bed was good with the usual cushy comforter and selection of pillows we've come to expect from Best Western.

The breakfast was served in a dining room type of setting. It was very small, and we shared our table with other guests. This was absolutely fine with us, but there may be some who would find this annoying. The selection was fine, and they did offer eggs and bacon.

It is not a far walk to Cannery Row and the ocean. And the price was fair. Be aware that, like most places in California, you have to pay to park, but it is a garage. There is window washing fluid and paper towels for your use right near the elevators. We thought this was a great addition! Thanks to whomever thought to do that.

Room Tip: Request upstairs. There's an elevator, plenty of luggage carts, and it will be more private if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    406
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
286
556
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, AL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

When planning a trip to California from Alabama with my son, there was no doubt that the centerpiece of our travel would be a drive south on the Pacific Coast Highway through Big Sur. Since we were flying into San Francisco, it only made sense that we drive from there on down to Monterey to begin the drive, but also to see the sights in and around Monterey itself. I liked the feel of Monterey, and can easily see why Steinbeck chose Monterey County as a basis for many of his stories.

As always, when researching an area in which I’ve never been, I first turn to Wikipedia to get an overview of the place, and next I read reviews on TripAdvisor
for the particulars (hotels, restaurants, attractions and points of interest.) Perusing the reviews, I honed in on a hotel, the Best Western Plus Victorian Inn.
One factor was the charm and another was the accessibility by foot of Cannery Row and surrounding tourist attractions (which I enjoyed more than Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco…not as “touristy”). Also, it seemed to be a great value for the all amenities with a full breakfast included in the room rate.

Although the whole inn is not Victorian by any means, it’s still a great little boutique hotel that should appeal to almost anyone. The rooms were clean and tidy, the beds comfortable, and the fireplace added just the right touch for a facility that close to the ocean. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, which included fruit as well as hot items. The coffee was especially tasty. If you plan on taking the scenic 17-Mile Drive from Monterey to Carmel-by-the-Sea, this is a great place from which to embark.

The bottom line question is, “Would you stay at the Best Western Plus Victorian Inn again on your next trip?” The answer is certainly a resounding, “Yes, must definitely”. I think you will agree if you spend some time there.

Room Tip: Like most hotels, best to secure a room not too close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Loved the location close to the shops and beach but kinda off on its own and private, the style, clean comfortable, charming fireplace. enjoyed the hot tub, Chris at the front desk was awesome and very helpful. Breakfast was great. I stayed here with my two daughters and it was perfect for our visit.

Room Tip: upstairs might be better so you dont hear people walking around at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in Monterey. The Victorian Inn is ideally located and is within walking distance to the Fisherman's wharf. The room was very nice with a cheerful fireplace. A tour bus was at the hotel at the same time we were which compromised the attention we received from the staff. We were told breakfast was served in the morning and wine & cheese in the afternoon, however, it was so crowded we gave up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Best Western Victorian in Monterey. Two years ago, around the same time of year, we stayed in the same hotel, in the same room. When we decided to come back, I requested the same room. We were very happy when we checked in to find we had the same room and a bottle of chilled,local white wine and chocolates to welcome us back. Since our last stay, they have added larger flat screen TVs above the marble fireplaces and increased the breakfast selection. While they could use a larger breakfast dining area, the food is good and plentiful. They also have a wine and cheese gathering at 4:30 everyday which is very nice.
The staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms and common areas are clean and well maintained and the price is compareable for the area ( a short walk to Cannery Row and the bay). Would I recommend it to a friend? I already have. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights as part of a fly drive holiday .Very spacious room overlooking a courtyard with 2 double beds , a fireplace , large tv and a dining corner should you wish to bring your breakfast to your room . Added advantage of a sink unit in the bathroom plus an extra vanity sink unit just outside the bathroom - great for 2 ladies travelling together ! Rather old fashioned ' Victorian ' decor . The reception and breakfast area are in the main house whilst all the rooms are in motel like blocks surrounding it . Breakfast was just O.K. but it was complimentary. We didn't manage to attend the free wine reception . Staff were very helpful . Location is great just a few minutes walk of Cannery Row and the Aquarium . Parking is 13 dollars a day in an on site underground carpark.
Personally , although the hotel was fine , we wished we had stayed in Carmel which was a much prettier place with lovely shops and cafes and a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location was very good for my conference held just off Fisherman's Wharf. Staff were very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was actually really good. Complimentary wine and cheese each evening as well. My only complaint is on the slightly spotty wifi connection, and the fact that it was *very* slow. But hey, it was included in the price, so not a huge concern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.