We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey in May.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Monterey in May.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our room was beautiful, clean and recently updated. It is very convenient for walking to Cannery Row. The afternoon wine and morning breakfast was very generous and delicious. Our room was on the street which was a bit noisy on a weekday morning, but otherwise fine. We got it for a fabuous price which made it a wonderful value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    435
    115
    35
    16
See reviews for
319
585
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The rooms are not Victorian. It is very loud. Balconies have no view of anything and they are not private. The rooms are very stuffy. This is not worth the high dollar price tag. Would never come back. Not relaxing at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
To begin, I would like to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback with us and with other travelers; we consider feedback such as this to be extremely valuable, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. I would like to thank this reviewer, as well, for their high ranking of our service and housekeeping staff; we recognize that it is their hard work which sets our hotel apart, and I am happy to let them know that they were able to leave a positive impression.

That being said, we are all disappointed that, despite this guest’s high regard for certain aspects of their stay, they were less than satisfied with our hotel. This past weekend was the MotoGP, arguably one of the busiest weekends on the Monterey Peninsula. During this annual three day race, thousands of motorcycles come to the area to participate in an event that draws people from around the world. Because of the nature of this weekend, there are a significantly higher number of people in the area than any other time of year – this year saw well over 50,000 visitors – which affects both the rates of hotels and the general level of noise. We can only apologize that this affected this guest so negatively; it is our mission to provide an environment dedicated to comfort and service, and I deeply regret that we were not able to do so for this guest.

Regarding the hotel itself, please know that we are in the process of a comprehensive remodel; beginning in 2011, we have already replaced the mattress sets, light fixtures in the rooms, and patio furniture, as well as installed a top-of-the-line new Wireless internet system. Thus far in 2012 we have completed the upgrade of all of our bathroom mirrors, and the installation of 42” flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. As the year continues, we plan to upgrade our guest room desk chairs, night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, and dressers.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their comments. Should anyone wish to speak with one of our managers directly about a question or concern, please don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Don't let the "Best Western" fool you into thinking this is an average chain motel. It is an Inn with its own personality, excellent service, and perks like a more-than-continental breakfast (though it might be nice to change the menu items a bit), and an afternoon wine tasting. I was in Monterey on business and only stayed here because the bigger convention hotel a block away was booked, but if I were to return I'd probably come again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights here on a weekend getaway. Was only 2 blocks from Cannery Row. Was able to walk to restaurants and even Fishermans Wharf, which was less than a mile away but a nice stroll on the water's edge. We were pleaseantly surprised with the breakfast, which had a good assortment of breakfast items. There was even a wine and cheese hour the hotel hosts every afternoon for 1 hr. The room was comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with the sliding door facing Foam St. No noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Each time we come back to stay at the Victorian Inn the staff greet us with either several bottles of wine or a bottle of wine and a bottle of cider plus chocolates and a note in our room. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly - never had a bad experience. (Some of the staff even recognize my husband year after year.) This time the afternoon wine and cheese had added apple slices (they could avoid them turning off color by using a little bit of lemon juice.) It was a nice addition to the cheese and cracker selection and gave us something for our son to eat as he is not too fond of the different cheeses. I was surprised that the breakfast basically remained the same this time each day unlike previous years where it changed daily. (I do like the hard boiled eggs and French Toast which was on the menu all 3 days so I was happy.) The first morning I didn't get the hang of the toaster and got my son's toast too brown. Warning: Don't wait too late for breakfast as you may miss something if they run out (they do try to replenish, but sometimes things do disappear). The Family Suite was comfortable as always, plus they had added an extra portable floor heater. As usual we used the fire place to get comfy cozy before going to bed...could not believe it was July - it drizzled slightly and the high was in the mid 60's! You can see the windows of the Family Suite in the picutre of the hotel as it is located above the reception/lobby area. The room as well as the reception/lobby is decorated very nicely in a Victorian style...can't comment on the other rooms as we found this one and have always paid the extra to have it since it has two rooms which allows the adults and our son to have some privacy. Be sure to utilize AAA rates discounts if you can. Wish the room had a microwave (which could be easily accomodated) and a bath tub (cannot be accomodated - but the shower is still one of the best around), other than that it is perfect for our family stays.

Room Tip: Rooms 230 (the Family Suite) and 231 are the only ones in the main building right above the lobby. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spend one night enroute to S F. Needs better signage to register. Personnel were nice, room was average, directed us to a nice local restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked this hotel for a last minute trip on the 4th of July. Brought two huge dogs, was only charged for one dog, the staff was wonderful. The rooms are a little old but clean, there is a wine and cheese reception each night and a hearty breakfast each morning. You are just steps from the path that goes along Cannery Row, the location is just perfect. When we checked in there was a welcome card and a food/water dish for the dogs, very nice touch! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.