We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel to your Saves list
Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1182 Cass Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Monterey, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel on the Feb12, 2014 and everything seemed okay until a couple of people started smoking right outside next door to us. So all the smoke entered thru our room. We asked the lady in charge if there was a possibility to change rooms and she said that she could not since there were sold out of the same room we had. I was surprised by her response knowing almost the entire building had 4 cars parked and the rest of the rooms were empty as I walked thru the property. She said she was going to call the people next door and that should solve the problem. So we let it go. The day of the check out time she was being rude calling us at what time we were checking out and that we needed it to check out immediately since she only had one housekeeper?! Go figure! First you as a person managing a business like a hotel should not proceed let alone behave this way. You need to be accommodating to your guests since they are the source of your income. On top of that when we went to have the mini breakfast around 930am ; one of the attendants started removing all the pastries and drinks while we had just got there knowing that the breakfast ends at 10am. So I asked her to bring back the coffee pitchel since I had not drunk yet. Secondly its bad manners and unethical to behave this way in a hotel. The management is bad and whoever hired this people they need to rethink their business behaviors. Last but not least they need to replace those very thin worn out towels they put in the rooms since they don't dry your body much.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor would be more ideal since the only ice machine is downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    45
    18
    20
See reviews for
39
84
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The pictures on there website are not the for this hotel. The people were rude and she told me if i didn't like then leave. The rooms are cramped.Can't even use the closet because stuff is in way to get close to it. The shower was horrible. Don't take a shower at the same time of someone else or it will be cold. The breakfast has no variety. One type of fruit and cereal. Parking lot to small for hotel. Someone parked blocking driveway and blocked us from getting out. Not enough spaces for amount of rooms. The walls are thin so you get so much noise and if you are downstairs you better have quiet ones. We had noisy ones that we couldn't sleep until they did.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We apologize that our property fell short of your expectations. We take guest feedback very seriously and appreciate the feedback on areas that we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is an older property but the room was spacious and clean. We had business at a nearby conference center and this was very convenient and an excellent value for the money. Breakfast area is cramped. Refrigerator and microwave in room is a nice touch. Good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: The king rooms are very spacious, not so much with 2 queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMonterey, Manager at Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed our central location. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra foothills of California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

For an older style property, this is a Very well-maintained, clean, and tidy hotel and was a 1st rate value as it was about half the cost of the 3-star options. The location puts you within about 5 miles of about everything there is to do in the Monterey/Carmel area so that was ideal. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast will not please those looking for healthier options as it's pretty much just starch du jour....so perhaps they can add some fresh fruit or yogurt at some point. It was nice having the micro and frig in the room as we did end up with leftovers from a number of meals and created our own lil' smorgasbord one night.

Had an issue w/ the TV and a staffer came right away (they have the TV's "set" to a volume restriction which was making it a bit hard to hear, my elderly friend and I were traveling together). Beds comfy, good water pressure in the shower, lots of fresh towels, and no issues whatsoever with noise during our 5 day stay over Christmas. I'm grateful to have found this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. (They could use better pillows so that's the reason for the sleep quality rating -- also cosmetically there was some minor room for improvement so I think overall the very good rating is a fair one.)

Room Tip: After reading other reviews prior to booking, I requested a 2nd floor room as I'm a very light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel

Address: 1182 Cass Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Ramada Hotel Monterey
Ramada Monterey
Monterey Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Limited Monterey Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.