We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

From reading the reviews here, I decided to pay the extra and book an ocean view room with a balcony. I wasn't at all disappointed, and the room was absolutely stunning. Binoculars in the room was a nice touch. Expensive, but worth the extra if you can. I don't think I would have enjoyed my stay anything like as much in an internal room.

Location is excellent - short walk to Fisherman's Wharf or Cannery Row.

All the staff were very friendly, from the valet parking guys, through housekeeping.

The only downside was that each night the bar and common areas were busy with corporate types having meetings. Not really what I expected at a resort style hotel/spa in a seaside location. Also I found it strange that the public could just walk into the plaza and use the facilities, which probably explains that not once could I find somewhere to sit down. On one occasion we ended up leaving the hotel to walk down Cannery Row to the Intercontinental to get a drink, and when we couldn't get a dinner table (in a reasonable time), we headed down to Fisherman's Wharf. Basically folk paying $500 per night get no preference over the public walking in. This annoyed me, so feel I must drop a star on the review.

We didn't use the Spa facilities, but they did look very extensive.

Overall, it was a lovely stay, and I would definitely recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    396
    111
    61
    30
See reviews for
678
1,248
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed for one night with a family of four. We had reserved an ocean front room with a balcony and got it (ha ha I'm not sure if they have any other kind...). The room had a fun view of the harbor, but I have to say I was imagining the view being straight to the open ocean, but that angle was blocked by a side of the hotel. But our boys enjoyed standing on the balcony, listening and watching the ocean waves rush onto the rocks below, and watching birds and cayakers with the binoculars kindly provided by the hotel.

The room had two queen beds. They provided adequate sleeping comfort for a family of four in one room. The bathroom was nice sized, and the room was modern and comfortable. There was nothing in the mini bar though! I was hoping for a glass of wine with my wife on the balcony after we put the kids to bed.

We used the valet service, which was efficient. Service was efficient and unobtrusive throughout. The location is great for seeing the aquarium and what else would you really want to see in downtown Monterey? The rooms can be accessed directly from the street by entering the courtyard without going through the hotel entrance, which is convenient - although I was a bit concerned about all kinds of riffraff entering the building in night time (a concern which did not materialize in the end).

If you want to stay in Monterey this is the place. Next time, though, I'm going to stay a couple miles south in Carmel - not because of the hotel which is very nice, but because of how busy the tourist strip in Monterey is.

Room Tip: Ask for direct ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Wonderful birthday stay! Chocolate covered strawberries on arrival; 30% coupon for spa (I used for Bliss on the Bay massage - great); 20.00 off for birthday at restaurant or spa (I used for Schooners); polite, accommodating, courteous staff; binoculars in the room to look out for wildlife (otters were so cute); clean, nice room; rooftop spa to relax after massage, so beautiful. The food at Schooners was good (lobster and steak for two), the mac and cheese was sooooo good! Happy hour house margaritas were really good (and strong)! I loved keeping the doors open at night to listen to the waves crashing on the rocks (good sleeping)!

The REASON for 4 STARS is because my room (1224) was right above the courtyard with benches. People from the hotel would come out to smoke there, and it was horrible while sitting on our balcony and having to smell the smoke (HORRIBLE). Also, two nights in a row, I was woke up (midnight and 2 a.m.) by loud laughing and talking (I guess around the fire pit), not enjoyable.

So, otherwise my stay was wonderful!

Room Tip: Not 1224. The room is right near the courtyard. There are benches there, and people from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week here on a conference. The staff are exceptionally helpful, but not intrusive. My room overlooked the bay and was large and very comfortable. The atmosphere is slightly old fashioned but entirely pleasant.
The food offerings were of a high standard, and the conference support staff were excellent .
This is an annual event, and the hotel does a great job in supporting the conference.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. All of the staff we encountered were helpful and extremely pleasant. The grounds are well kept up and beautiful. It was great sitting on the patio or around the fire pit enjoying the awesome view.We had an oceanview room and it had a nice view of the bay. I would not get a room on the street side as it may be noisy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The best of charm, character, and service! We are in Monterey several times a year, often for business and sometimes with family, but the plaza is the place to land for us. We stay nowhere else in town unless Plaza is booked. I love the "Ahhhh" factor when we arrive after our long drive. Perfectly relaxing spaces throughout the hotel. The rooms well appointed with terrific linens in bed and bath, everything clean, binoculars a great touch to enjoy wildlife in ocean and bay! Don't miss fantastic drinks, appetizers, and entrees at Schooners (Angry Prawns a must!) located in hotel! all service personnel very polite, helpful, and efficient. I only wish I had written down names of all those who made stay great from parking to housekeeping!

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask for an upgrade when you arrive because if it's available the Plaza will ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic location especially if you haven't got much time in Monterey. We visited the aquarium and the wharf as well as cannery row.We also had breakfast looking out to sea and watching the sea otters. The room was perfect and the car valet service quick organised and first class. We definitely want to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.