We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel - The BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel - The BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is awesome! The bell men at the front drove us to wonderful restaurants and gave great advise. The rooms were incredible- very roomy and very clean. At night they had Jazz on the weekend which was very delightful. My In-laws were in heaven staying in this hotel - Its worth every penny you have. Thank you for a wonderful experience !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    395
    109
    61
    30
See reviews for
671
1,240
78
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have stayed here a few times and enjoyed it each time. It's a first class hotel, with beautiful lobby and public spaces indoors and outdoors. This trip we ate at the bar and the food was very good, plus enjoyed chatting with the bartender. Although we didn't have an oceanview room, we actually could see the ocean from our balcony in the tower across the street. Great bed but a bit of noise from the street. All in all, a most pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The plaza hotel is absolutely gorgeous. It reminds me of the grove park inn, in Asheville, NC.

The hotel:
We had two rooms, one with a bay view and the other with a garden view. The bay view room was spacious, clean and had gorgeous views. The garden view room, actually looked outside towards the Main Street but also had a great view of the town, which is overall quiet. The garden view room was bigger in size and great for traveling with children. The bathrooms was spacious, clean and overall had a great design and feel. It has more of a rustic, traditional feel, so if modern is your thing, this hotel is not for you.

The bar/ outside area:
The fire pit outside of the hotel is romantic and serene. The seating is comfortable and and the views are amazing. The bar at the hotel is located at the lower lobby; don't be alarmed if you are in jeans when you approach the hostess, the right side of the restaurant has the bar and more relaxed seating. The bartenders are fantastic and we met some fabulous people all talking about their fun adventures thus far in Monterey.

The town itself;
Is completely walkable. They actually have a fabulous bike/ running trail that run parallel to the Main Street. We rented bikes one morning and had a fantastic time seeing the old wharf area, passing through downtown and passing the aquarium and seeing the cape cod style homes. There are plenty of meal options on cannary row or simply hop in the complimentary trolly and head into town for more options. The downtown area is actually only a mile from the hotel to the left, on a wonderful path so it is walkable. Cannary row is to the right and only a few hundred feet so you can easily walk there too.

I highly recommend this hotel based on location, cleanliness, overall appearance and friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was certainly one of the better hotels we stayed in during our tour of California. The rooms, beds and facilities were top notch both in terms of comfort and cleanliness and the staff were friendly and efficient. The feel of the hotel is classy without being stuffy. It has a very nice restaurant with beautiful ocean views and the hotel itself is in a very pleasant location.

Room Tip: The room we were located in had a shared terrace outside with plants and flowers and casual seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice hotel on a beautiful spot, Spa and restaurant fascilities are good and the service is excellent.
The price is in the higher range due hotel segment. Rooms are nice and have enough space, downside was the airconditioning on the room, made a lot of noise. I reported this to the hotelmanager he promissed to have a technical inspection for the next guests.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was just the perfect stay. We loved every moment of our stay here. Wish we could have stayed more than one night! We checked in and immediately saw a sea otter from our window, the binoculars in the room were a lovely touch. The wildlife in the bay is just beautiful. We then went up to the spa, which was glorious. The rooftop jacuzzi is lovely, the steam room is great and we were made to feel very welcome even though we were not having a treatment. The facilities in the shower rooms were amazing. The we booked dinner in Schooners and were not disappointed. Our food was incredible, especially the swordfish and the steak, which was enormous! Our waiter was great too, I think his name was Alexander. The fuzzy otter cocktail was great! This may be the best hotel we have ever visited, we need to go back! We have just had our first wedding anniversary while we have been away and I wish we could have spent it here.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Monterey Plaza Hotel was a wonderful and relaxing stay. Everyone in the Hotel was friendly and the service was excellent. My ocean view room was the Best! The 5th floor Jacuzzi was very welcoming after a busy day of walking. The outdoor restaurant has the best clam chowder in a bread bowl and I have it every year staying at the same hotel. I was able to get Aquarium tickets at the front desk for a 2 day visit & no standing in line to get in. There is also car service to the airport which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.