We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Coastal delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was our first stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was excellent, the staff friendly, polite, and responsive to any request. We loved hearing the ocean outside our window at night. Our room was supplied with binoculars and we could watch the ocean wildlife from the comfy chairs next to the window. From our table at breakfast in Schooner's Coastal Kitchen we watched an otter floating in the waves below, having his breakfast as well. Delightful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    396
    111
    61
    30
See reviews for
678
1,247
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Fantastic location on Cannery Row with a great view. Asked for a quiet room with an ocean view and they definitely accommodated us with top floor very end over the water. Was wonderful to just sit in the room with the binoculars and windows open listening to the sounds of the surf and watching the otters. Also, a great location to walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The spa/whirlpool/steam shower were all in the same building we stayed in which was fantastic, and great way to watch the fog roll in at night. The hotel and rooms are definitely dated although clean considering they are overtop of the ocean. We slept with the windows open and the only complaint was those pesky Sealions barking all night ;). Overall pleased, would love to see some upgrades to make is truly 5 stars.

Room Tip: Not having an ocean view would be like going on a cruise and having an inside room.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are a lot of notices about environmental precautions etc. Would love to see them raise the bar in this concern especially considering their location on the protected bay.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We've been going to this hotel for years as a family. Sometimes we splurge and get an ocean view room. In the past, we've been very pleased with the ocean view rooms. We love being able to see the otters in the morning, and the provided binoculars are awesome! But this trip, the beds were old and uncomfortable. For the price we paid for the room, that's unacceptable. We probably won't go back again, esp. with the new hotel down the street. We asked for a quiet room, got a noisy room above the courtyard.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. I am disappointed that your request for a quiet room was not fulfilled and the bed was uncomfortable. I am sorry to hear that you are considering not coming back. I hope you will allow me the opportunity to talk with you personally regarding your recent stay. I can be reached by phone at 831-645-4000 or by email at jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was in San Francisco for Dreamforce and decided to head down and spend some time in Monterey. I'm a huge animal enthusiast and had requested a room with an ocean view. I got more than I expected!

Unfortunately after having spent time with 130,00 of my closest friends at the conference I became ill. But the room was comfortable and included binoculars which allowed me to see sea otters, dolphins, seals, jelly fish, birds....not a bad way to spend some much needed downtime...simply sitting and looking out at the bay!

The staff was on point. Always helpful, friendly and courteous! I also loved the location...very much within walking distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium as well as all the shops and restaurants of Cannery Row!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room and sleep with the windows open...I loved listening to the ocean waves an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Worth it to stay here. We had our wedding reception here and often return yearly . Look for special deals on internet also . Love it and enjoyed our room service and views again.

We had a wedding reception here also a few years ago and it was impeccable and they allowed our outside vendors in to do many special things. The outdoor food and drink hour was amazing ans served appetizers were awesome. 1/2 the price of other 4 and 5 star resorts int he area

Ahi tune and lobster bisque and surf and turf was to die for.

Great value overall considering other high end resorts in pebble beach. Best reception room views with widows to the bay feet away fro the waves and sea life.

Highly recommend it

Room Tip: pay for upgraded room ask for upgrades at check in and look doe internet deals - especially off seas...
See more room tips
Green Features: i know water conservation program is cool idea - not sure on rest
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything is Good about this Hotel, the Bell boy, the front desk trainee except the ARROGANT FRONT DESK MANAGER who was rude and should not be part of this hotel. He can not take any comments from the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for this occurrence. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure that your comments have been forwarded to our Director of Rooms for corrective action. I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back. If you could please call me at 831-645-4000 or by email at jnarigi@montereyplazahotel.com, it would be helpful.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was a family trip. After recommendations from a friend we booked 2 rooms. The service was amazing. Every request was met. We arrived early and our rooms where already clean and ready. My daughter has special food needs so a microwave was placed in our room. We had adjoining rooms which was great and I don't even think we asked. We asked for a late check out and that was accommodated as well. It was just a great feeling that everything we asked was always possible and done with a smile.
The hotel has an amazing view and we never used our car,just walked every where.
What can I say...just a great place with a high regard to customer service.
Gali

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.