We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING hotel for family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING hotel for family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm a very experienced traveler who has spent a lot of time in hotels, and I have to say this hotel far, far, FAR exceeded my expectations! The service was spectacular, the room was amazing with a fantastic view, and both restaurants were fabulous. But the best part for us was how amazingly family welcoming they were! They had great children's menu at both the cafe and the fine dining restaurant with many more choices than the usual mac-n-cheese and chicken fingers (though they did have those). All the staff were so amazing with my daughters--we ate at the restaurant more than anywhere else because of how great they were. All in all, five stars from us! And we cannot wait to visit again. This will definitely be our place to stay in Monterey. Thank you Monterey Plaza Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,415
    451
    124
    68
    32
See reviews for
824
1,424
87
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our ocean view room exceeded our expectations and we felt we received value for dollar invested. As suggested from reading other Trip Advisor reviews we paid an additional fee for an ocean view room mostly to avoid Cannery Noise street noise. That expectation was met however what we had not anticipated was the WOW factor of the ocean views at this property which were spectacular. We had better sea otter watching/photography from our hotel window than anywhere else on our trip, including the Monterey Aquarium. The room was lovely, the public areas of the hotel were extremely attractive and the food was good. We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey_Plaza, General Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I value your generous five-star review. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and I’m glad we exceeded yours. I will relay your kind words to Dillon and Brandon. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

John V. Narigi
Vice President & General Manager
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This beautiful hotel is an absolute standout from the moment you arrive. It simply exudes luxury,cleanliness and calm and it is uniquely position overlooking the ocean. The staff were most accommodating and courteous we had encountered during our overseas stay. Dillon, the Bell Captain was exceptional. My mother was absolutely delighted to find chocolate dipped strawberries and a note wishing her happy birthday when we arrived back from a lovely walk along Cannery Row. Brendon gave us some easy directions to get onto the ocean road and also suggested Katies Place in Carmel for breakfast as we left quite early. Thankyou Brendan - it was an great breakfast !! The Monterey was a wonderful experience that really did exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel for a conference. I wasn't expecting much. Wow was I surprised! All I can say is we had the best service I have ever experienced. We have traveled extensively and I have never seen each employee of a hotel reach out to make sure our stay was special. From the check I'm to valet to the restaurant personnel, each experience was top drawer! Now for some practical advice- don't get a ocean front room if you want to keep your window open. The sound from the birds and sea otters will keep you awake. Try for a balcony room- we were in 3425 and we had a very limited view of the city and the water. Eat at schooners- great for every meal! It's in the lower level of the hotel. Great location walking distance to the aquarium and cannery row and fisherman's wharf. Don't bother eating at the WHARF. It's touristy and the food is bland. Stay at schooners!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Exquisite. We had a corner suite with an ocean view overlooking the Monterey Bay. Luxury Service, comfort, cleanliness, and amenities galore. I recommend this Hotel / Spa. Twice ------Exquisite. We had a corner suite with an ocean view overlooking the Monterey Bay. Luxury Service, comfort, cleanliness, and amenities galore. I recommend this Hotel / Spa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were visiting friends in Monterey and stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. We did not want to spend the extra money to reserve a water view, but did ask for a room in the main building of the hotel to be close to the facilities. What a wonderful time! The room was very large and well appointed. Nice street view with windows that opened. Just a few steps out the door from our room we could go to the stairs or the elevator and we were looking at the bay when we reached the main level. Being from the Midwest, we woke up early, went to the on site coffee shop and drank our coffee outside and watched the sun rise over the bay. An attendant even started up the firepit for us to sit by since it was still a little chilly at that time of day. The resort fee covered valet in and out parkng, so we could take off for side trips any time we wanted. Beautiful location, walking distance from woderful restaurants as well as things to do on Cannery Row. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was special because of the wonderful water views (there were even binoculars to look out with). Great food.

Room Tip: Even the rooms without the water view are wonderful - and just a few steps from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here with friends who has been going to the yearly Monterey Jazz Festival for 20 years and has stayed in other Hotels. Among all the places they have stayed at, they claim, this to be the BEST! It is our first year and I am glad this is were we stayed. Every staff is just so welcoming and friendly and happy! From the time you step out of your car to the front desk and everywhere else. You are acknowledged with a smile and a happy face, everyone seems to be happy with their job as they walk pass by you anywhere in the Resort.
The view of the Ocean is soo breath taking and gives you such a peaceful feeling!!!
A MUST place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ocean View a MUST! Pay a little more but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Unscripted Monterey Bay
Unscripted Monterey Bay
#38 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.