We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Monterey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Monterey before heading down Highway 1 to Santa Barbara. We found the Monterey Plaza to be first class. The location overlooking the sea is superb and we were able to sit on our balcony and watch seals basking in the sun. The staff were friendly and attentive and the room was well appointed with plenty of space. Dinner and breakfast in Schooners was a great experience - well cooked food with a view out over the bay. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,081
    397
    112
    61
    30
See reviews for
679
1,248
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On our west coast family trek, we stayed at this property for a few days. Very classy and well appointed property. We arrived and immediately checked in. We rented bikes from a vendor across the street (adventures by the sea) for a few hours, riding in each direction to check out the beaches, seals, etc. We returned and did a quick tour of the aquarium (good aquarium but did not live up to the level of hype from some sources). We did a GREAT sunset cruise with Capt Christian (Bella Monterey Bay). Awesome ride and we saw whales up close. You must do Lou Lou's for breakfast, and we had a great casual meal at Hula's Grill. The property, rooms over the water, rooftop hot tub, etc all made for a great experience. We then headed down 17 mile drive to our next stop at the Pebble Lodge....

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We drove to Monterey from San Francisco,. I had very high hopes for MPH. I picked the hotel solely on Trip Advisor reviews.

Gorgeous location, my daughter remarked the minute we pulled into Monterey, "Why did we stay in San Francisco for 3 nights, when this amazing little town was so close?" And so it went.

We were greeted by valet. Explained that we had just a few hours to hit the aquarium and that we didn't want to unload our car, just wanted to buy aquarium tickets and head out. We would sort out the car, our luggage after our visit to the aquarium. Front desk check in was very nice and we had gotten an upgrade to a partial ocean view room. Purchase our tickets and were on our way.

When we returned from the aquarium, we had our only hiccup. We asked for the car to be brought around so we could unload our stuff. The bell desk pleasantly insisted that we simply relax in our room, they would handle all of the luggage and deliver it. No need to worry ourselves. Usually I would not hand over our stuff, but this place is top notch so I let them. They said it would only be 10 minutes. 30 mintues later, and we had no stuff. We were anxious to try out the hot tub before our dinner reservations. I called and changed our ressies, but still no luggage. I called the bell desk to inquire about our stuff. It had been emptied by valet but not communicated to bell desk that it was ready, so it had been sitting there the whole time.

After that, we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, the room was beautiful, great amenities, comfortable beds, a pillow menu (loved this), lovely bathroom separate vanity (which is great with a family of 3 females) and the view, we loved the view. The outdoor space at the hotel is also just beautiful. The binoculars are a great touch. The room was very quiet I did not hear any noise below. We left our window open to hear the water, but did shut it before drifting off to sleep.

We would stay here again and again. I would just keep an eye on my own stuff rather than relying on bell/valet. They were very friendly and apologetic. Without this hiccup, I would rate them Excellent.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view we had was terrific.
See more room tips
Green Features: Monterey Aquarium talks about the environment and being green. My 12 year old really picked up on it and I'm glad that the hotel is too.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is a little slice of heaven! Lovely, well appointed rooms with comfortable beds and furnishings. The rooms are not large, but ours had a small balcony overlooking the ocean. This is a luxury property. If you enjoy upscale hotels, you won't be disappointed. They have a pillow menu. Allergic to down bedding, no problem. Like firm pillows, no problem. Want more pillows, feel free to order them. This place is beautiful.

Unfortunately, we were there only one night, so we were unable to take advantage of the spa services. I did tour the spa and it looked inviting. No children allowed - 18 and over only.

You definitely want a room with an ocean view in the spa tower. I will return sans (without) children very soon. Romantic, sophisticated hotel. Dining room and bar were cozy with a great atmosphere -- indoor and outdoor seating options. Peet's coffee for your morning stroll to shop on cannery row. Tickets are sold at the front desk for the Aquarium, which are valid for two days. Buy them and avoid the line over at the Aquarium to purchase tickets in the morning.

The hotel has a great location away from the noise of cannery row, but close enough to walk to the Aquarium, Starbucks, Bubba Gumps, Johnney Rockets and many other restaurants and shops. This hotel is definitely the best in Monterey. Enjoy!! We sure did!

Room Tip: Ocean view in the Spa Tower is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was an awesome hotel and spa!!! Went on a girls trip to Monterey and it was amazing:)) Took a drive to Carmel saw dolphins swimming close to the beach, did a little shopping! Took advantage of the 20% off the hot stone massage at the hotel spa, amazing! The spa was wonderful! Great view from the hot tub! Schooner's for lunch the first day was delish! The Chart House next door for dinner was fabulous!! Fresh fish!!! Yummy! Went on a whale watching tour, totally awesome. Definitely would go back. So much to do! Great hotel and spa!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Monterey Plaza. Very helpful staff and good sized rooms. Particularly good check in. Monterery is a lovely place - you should definitely make the effort to take the walk along the sea front to Lovers' Point. Shame that breakfast wasn't included for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. The staff was fantastic; friendly, efficient and quick. The location is unbeatable; right on Cannery Row, near shopping, restaurants, wine tasting and more! Our partial oceanview room was spectacular, and had a view that many hotels would call a full oceanview or even oceanfront. I was amazed at the value for the the beautiful room we received. Comfortable bed, great robes, wonderful bell/valet service. Great experience overall that really made our vacation. We'll be back and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Moneterey area who wants to make it a special and memorable trip!

Room Tip: Get the partial oceanview. It's fabulous and a fraction of the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.