We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service but impersonal !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good service but impersonal !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice central location with an easy walk to the wharf and downtown Monterey. The area just south of the hotel around the aquarium comes across somewhat tacky. The rooms are nice and clean but not super luxurious. We had an ocean view room and enjoyed getting coffee at the cafe and sit and watch wildlife in the ocean in the morning. The walls are paper thin you can follow the conversation in the next room. You can hear everything and only hope your neighbor doesn't choose to watch a movie late in the night like ours did!Spa guests waiting for their treatments were oddly enough sat in the gym area where we exercised on treadmills etc. All the staff are friendly and greets you when you arrive and depart during your stay there.....but there is something personally missing. It's simply too big and too many functions going on all the time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,829
    350
    100
    58
    29
See reviews for
585
1090
75
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful getaway at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. The staff were all wonderful and very helpful. It was in a great location, beautiful views and we could walk to the piers and down Cannery Row. Our visit to the Aquarium was incredible. The concierge booked us for a private Wine Tasting Tour with George. (Cadillac's by George) He was phenomenal and personalized our day to fit exactly what we wanted to do! I know I will use his services again! The spa was very relaxing and we loved the jacuzzi on the roof. I can't wait to go back to Monterey and stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There is a road in Monterey with every possible hotel chain on it. Don't stay on it. Pass it and drive to the water, which is why you're staying in the area anyway! This hotel is beautiful and even in the summer, it wasn't crowded or noisy. We walked to the aquarium and didn't have to worry about parking. If I ever stay in the city again, I'll return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a big sprawling upscale hotel right that seemed a bit too posh for my kids (8 and 10) to feel comfortable. We showed up in jeans and flip-flops after a long day of driving and immediately felt out of place. Other guests were in cocktail attire. It definitely has a country club vibe.

However, the view from the deck is fantastic, and it would be a beautiful place for a romantic weekend. I could totally envision myself sitting out there watching the sunset with a gin and tonic.

The location is great. It's an easy walk down Cannery Row to the aquarium, and to more family-friendly dining options.

Our room was huge and the beds were very comfortable -- the best of our trip. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family (my wife, and I, and 2 kids) stayed a the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa, while on vacation in California. I learned of it from Tripadvisor, and it far exceeded my high expectations. The hotel is beautiful, the location is outstanding, and our room was beautiful and spacious, and overlooked the bay. The service, from the front desk staff to the valet, was unparalleled. They were very friendly, attentive and always helpful. Even the bell staff went way beyond the call of duty. In addition to attending to our bags, the bell staff made restaurant and other site and event recommendations and reservations, and followed up with us to see if their recommendations were up to our liking.

The outstanding service continued even after we left the hotel. There was an art gallery, down the street from the Monterey Plaza, which we liked, and an artist in particular, which we loved. We were unable to return to the gallery before we left, as it was closed. When we called the Monterey Plaza Hotel, from he road for information, one of the staff actually walked down to the gallery, and had the owner , and subsequently the artist call us!

We had a wonderful and unforgettable experience at the Monterey Hotel and Spa. I strongly recommend staying here. We will surely stay here again, and look forward to that time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a private balcony, overlooking the bay. It was spacious and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We came here for one night as part of our honeymoon and the service from valet to check in to waiters has been outstanding. We got here at 3pm and our room was not ready so they gave us complimentary drink tokens for the bar which was much appreciated. The rooms are lovely and the hotel has beautiful views over the ocean. We then had a massage and went into the rooftop hot tubs which were part of the hotel that juts into the sea and ended up seeing whales from in the hot tub. What a perfect experience! The restaurant and cocktails here are also recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Hotel is beautiful and the location is the best on the street. This was a weekend getaway and I cant tell you how relaxing it was. Who couldn't relax with the ocean views the outdoor fire pit or the piano bar. The staff was so friendly and very helpful with questions we had.
The rooms are nice size and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom is nice size and the makeup area was a bonus getting ready in the mornings. No question we would come back. Its a wonderful escape from real life:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.