We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful views & excellent service. The hotel seemed luxurious and new. The walk to the Aquarium was only about 5-10 minutes. The scenic 17-mile drive is about 10 minutes away. We wish we could have stayed more than one night. From some locations on the property you can see a nearby vacant building. The hotel can't do much about this. Everything else was wonderful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,831
    350
    100
    58
    29
See reviews for
587
1090
75
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very pricey, but worth it. This was our third time staying here. If you want to see a sunset from your room, you'll have to ask for a west-side facing room in the Spa Tower, other than that most all rooms face the other directions, without a sunset view. Cannery Row is approximately a mile away and is where shopping and restaurants are located. The Monterey Wharf is approximately a mile away in the other direction as is the center of town, The restaurants in the hotel, Schooners, The Duck Club Grill, and Cafe La Strada are convienent nice and serve good food. As expected hotel staff are professional and very accommodating. Plenty of excellent golf courses to choose from, don't disregard Monterey Pines Golf Course for it is a course that has improved 400% and is very inexpensive.

Room Tip: For a view of the sunset, ask for a Spa-Tower west side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nice! We felt very spoiled. The service was excellent. The spa was beautiful and relaxing. The birds did not bother us as mentioned in other reviews. I loved sitting out by the fire pit in the morning by the sea and drinking my coffee. The hotel is within walking distance from all the restaurants and shopping. Be sure to take the 17 mile drive and stop at the Pebble Beach lodge and have lunch over looking the 18th green, it's a great experience. If you like dancing, Sly Mcfly's has live bands 7 days a week and its only a 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this property and we experienced excellence from beginning to end. The location, right on the bay, is beautiful and relaxing. It is apparent that this hotel is well managed because the staff that we encountered were professional, courteous, and very accommodating. We travel a lot and rarely has a property risen to the level of the Plaza. If you are planning to stay in Monterey you will not be disappointed with the Plaza. We enthusiastically recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

great hotel great staff great bar great food great rooms great view great rooms
great great great great great does this meet your stupid two hundred character minimum no how about now not yet this sucks how about now

Room Tip: rooms w/ veiws spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was truly a wonderful hotel, staff was friendly and professional. Large lobby, grand piano and many floor to ceiling windows facing the bay. I felt safe and secure the entire time I was there. Large room with flat screen TV, wide and spacious drawers, a vanity counter and stool, safe in the closet and nice size bathroom. Free WiFi. I had an ocean view but it was a partial view with balconies to the left. I stayed only one night so next time I will ask for a full ocean view. Went up to the top, spa level where there are two outdoor jacuzzis with glass walls all around to enjoy the view of the bay, fireplace was lit, restroom, shower, lounge chairs, towels and ice water. Nicely updated hotel all around. It was wonderful eating and lounging outdoor at Schooners restaurant while I was waiting to check-in then went there for dinner, again another nice experience with great service and food. Great that they have a covered entrance to drive into for valet parking and bell desk service.

Room Tip: If reserving an ocean view room and staying for more than one night, request for a room that is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. They have clean rooms. Great cleaning and valet staff, and if you can afford it great views. It is also family friendly as they have large rooms with refrigerators, hallelujah! However, we got a deal booking earlier and so they made us go on the side of the hotel that is across the bridge (no view). I had no problem with that as our room faced green space. I did have two small issues to note/beware of. The first is that the hotel was reluctant to accommodate us when we tried to get a room at two instead of four pm. I had called ahead to say we would be arriving early. I understand the official, guaranteed check in is four, but we were traveling with a three year old and a two month old. Most high end hotels we have stayed at, e.g. Four seasons, Hyatt, etc. will get you a room as we all know there are rooms available before four. Here they gave me push back and finally after two calls and a desk visit got us a room after three and acted as if we should be extra thankful. Second complaint, though again minor, they put us in the most inconvenient location. We were on the second floor building three. This means that we had to go up the elevators to the third floor cross an interior catwalk over the street. Go down then left then into another elevator to go to the second floor. If just me and my husband whatever. But, with two kids and a stroller not to mention all the kid accommodating accoutrement you have to travel with it was both inconvenient and felt like we were being punished for our 45 min early check in. Not too cool. That being said, nice hotel. We live near monterey and will be back in the area though still might consider investigating potentially other properties if they were as nice and a bit more accommodating with the kids. And, I forgot to mention my husband wanted me to note that the lack of a pool was disappointing given the price point.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on any floor of building three other than the third floor if you do t want to hav...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.