We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best property in Monterey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free of Fees
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
sacramento
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best property in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

(Specific room recommendations are in the last paragraph.) Despite the opening of an Intercontinental, nothing can beat the lovely Monterey Plaza for views, features, service and ambience. The hotel is vaguely S-shaped, wrapping around and over the edge of horseshoe-shaped Monterey. Its rooftop jacuzzi set at the corner of the building has what I think is the best view from a whirlpool tub anywhere. Charge champagne through room service, relax in the spa or by the outdoor rooftop fireplace and just say ahhhhhhh. (The workout facilities overlook the bay, too.)

The rooms are spacious. And yes, it's expensive but it's one of these special experiences that doesn't feel so painful because it delivers.

The bar (smaller) side of Schooner's bar and restaurant is charming, with interesting house-created cocktails and gorgeous views. (I skipped the artichoke cocktail created to honor artichoke Day, however.) My Ruby Sipper was excellent and the Santa Cruz Sidecar being consumed at the next table over was well received. The food is good, focused on seafood but not limited to it. You can order from the full menu in the smaller bar side in addition to the bar menu. I've had great crab there in years past although it wasn't crab season during this visit.

Important note: they have you initial an "events" clause on check-in saying you understand there may be some noise from events. They aren't kidding about that. I've stayed several times when there have been rowdy wedding parties in the evening, especially from April through early fall. If you're going to spend the money on ocean front, ask for a room in the spa tower that doesn't perch over the big decks where they hold weddings. I don't think being on upper floors matters much but request rooms 13-19 (e.g. 1213-1219, on the second floor) or 3-5. Those are perched over the water with no "party" decks below. (Nice touch: binocs in the rooms to watch the sea otters float by, which is common.) Though a big splurge, the corner suites, for example 1201/02, are the prettiest suites anywhere but get above the 2nd floor because of The Chart House restaurant --adjacent. Avoid 07-12. 14-18 and 26-36 face an internal courtyard. This is one hotel where the room and setting is a main attraction so it's worth the money for ocean view unless you have to be gone during all the daylight hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    396
    111
    61
    30
See reviews for
678
1,248
79
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If I find out I have a week to live I'm coming back here to sit on the balcony and listen to the waves, and watch the sunrise.
Service is impeccable. I spend an afternoon in the hot tub on the top of the building overlooking the bay. I went between the eucalyptus steam shower, to the hot tub, to the fire--and that was without actually using the spa itself. If you stay here you must upgrade to a view room. Just do it. And chose the view to the north, where you can see the sweep of the bay, and have more sun / sunrise.
We wanted a special room and the bellstaff took us to a bunch until we found what we wanted. Perfect experience. AND they refused to be tipped.

Room Tip: DO pay extra for the view rooms. And not just any view rooms, but the ones facing east--sounds weir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a wonderful 3-day stay at the Monterey Plaza. The service was outstanding and every single employee we encountered was fabulous. The location is great and the rooms are large and very cozy. I highly recommend a room with a balcony and a view of the water. The binoculars in the room were a nice touch. Would definitely stay at the Monterey Plaza again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent a weekend in Monterey Bay area and stayed at Monterey Plaza Hotel on Cannery Row...what a treat...from valet to bell staff...from front desk to restaurant...the smiles and service were tops... a genuine feeling of caring for guests. Makes our choice easy on our next trip down !

Room Tip: We chose the bay view with balcony...a little more in $$ but worth the view and the seagull that alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa, in Monterey California (March 02/13) and the online pictures do not do this property justice!! The pictures are beautiful, and the hotel is stunning!! The rooms are very large, as are the bathrooms. The service we received was amazing! From the Valet service to the Front Desk....thru to the housekeeping....everyone was extremely friendly, and helpful, and always greeted us by name!! It's wonderiful to see...in this day and age...the high quality of customer service, that is still offered at this hotel!! We can't wait to return to this property!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I were extremely pleased with this hotel. We only wish we had been able to stay longer! We were visiting the area and driving down the California coast for my husband's 50th birthday and our 24th wedding anniversary!

Every employee we came in contact with was exceptionally nice and went out of their way to assist us! The facility was beautiful and very clean! The view was awesome and I enjoyed hearing the waves as we went to sleep. We had breakfast at Café La Strada. The food was good and the employees were very pleasant. We also went to Schooners and enjoyed some very tasty soup/chowder.

Thank you for a wonderful visit! We will be back next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband stayed at this hotel once on business, but it's too pricey for us normally- it's one of te two most expensive waterfront hotels in Monterey. I found a half price deal on Sniqueaway for a room with king bed, balcony and ocean view, so I booked 2 nights for our anniversary.

The hotel is a very nice property, definitely 4-5 stars. Multiple outdoor seating areas to enjoy the sun and ocean views. Free valet parking, free wi-fi, free apples in the lobby. Staff are courteous, helpful and friendly.

The room: Very comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, spa robes that were amazingly soft on the inside. Small balcony was big enough for 2 chairs and a small table, but not much else. Fun to watch the ocean waves breaking right under the hotel, and one morning we saw a pod of dolphins playing in the bay and we saw sea otters every day. Nice touch is a pair of binoculars in the room for wildlife viewing.

The spa: while we didn't use any spa services, we did go up to the rooftop spa terrace to use the jacuzzi. Two jacuzzis, decent size, with plexiglass panels to block the wind without hampering your view. The workout room had a good range of high quality equipment: treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, several machines (military press, etc), exercise balls and free weights - and the workout room has an ocean view.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we are quite familiar with Monterey and have our own favorite places to eat. The hotel is located right on Cannery Row, so lots of options if you don't have a car. Also, the hotel offers complimentary car service.

I would definitely stay here again if I found another good deal, but I wouldn't pay their full price.

Room Tip: Rm 1204 was very nice. Views of the wharf and breakwater as well as part of the bay. Faces the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.